We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little teashop with friendly owners and yummy scones”

The Old Bakery Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas. We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a wide selection of Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays.
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Visited as a group of 4 friends and were lucky to get a table. The Old Bakery is hidden at the end of a small passage. We had cakes and scones - all homemade and delicious - and there were also light savoury lunch options on the menu. The owners were friendly. The place has a lot of literature on the sides and walls about bereavement and faith.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Lauren H
It was a pleasure to welcome you and the rest of the group here for your afternoon tea, and your comments about the cakes and scones are really appreciated as everything is made here by Jackie. We share our experiences in life to encourage others who may have gone through the same set of circumstances and from discussions that we have in the tearoom, we know this is often the case. At the same time we dont force it on people. Great to meet you and I hope that you will be able to come in again next time you are having a break from London. Best wishes. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having seen reviews of this delightful tearoom we decided to pop in for tea and scones after a day sightseeing. I am so glad we did, having to follow a gluten free diet my options are somewhat limited, but my wheat free scone was the best ever tasted, warm, light & soft. My husband enjoyed his traditional scone and we were offered a choice of jams to accompany. There was a wonderful array of home made cakes on display enough to tempt anyone! The service and atmosphere was warm and friendly. A real little gem.

1  Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Jacky S
We have several friends who need a gluten / wheat free diet and they have been wonderful in helping us understand fully the needs (and implications) of the diet. Much of our menu can be adapted for gluten free and there is rarely a day when we don't serve something in the GF range. Pleased to have been able to make a good ending to your sightseeing day! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I usually take reviews with a pinch of salt as everyone has different tastes. However, this place is a total gem. If you can get a table go there. The cream tea is to die for. The coronation chicken is legendary. If I lived nearer I'd weigh 20st as I'd be in there every day.

2  Thank Mez1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Mez1475
Thank you for your visit - so glad that we will not be totally responsible for you overeating! It's just great that you found that all the other reviews are accurate, as it's just Jackie and myself we take a great deal of personal pride in making sure everything is done to the best of our ability. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again. Alan Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have visited this t room on several occasions, travelling 100 miles just for their cream tea!
You will not find a better cream tea in the uk, forget the Cornish cream teas, you will have hit the jackpot when you visit The Old bakery. Besides snacks they also serve a variety of meals which look fantastic. The wArm welcome you receive is exceptional, highly recommend you visit here and guarantee you will not be disappointed. Will always return from Shropshire -:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kerrygold48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Kerygold48
Good to see you both again and you prove that we serve cream teas at any time of the day!! Thank you for coming a good number of times over the yeas and that you find the cream tea as good as ever. Now the fine weather is here again hope that we will see you again soon. Take care in your travels, with best wishes. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Both of our children are at university. The occasions when we can all get together and go out for the day, it's almost impossible to get the question finished about where they want to go before the word "Stow" enters the conversation.
Much as we like the place, there's a limit on what can be done there but the attraction for them is going to the Old Bakery Tearooms. I can't disagree either. The food is simple and delicious, portions plentiful and the service and welcome top notch. For instance, if you want a guilty pleasure, try the crumpets with bacon and melted cheese on top accompanied by salad and little post of home-made dressing. It is nice to see vegetarian and gluten free options catered for as well.
All the cakes are baked on the premises and on top of that, the tea they make is lovely. It is loose leaf (a rarity these days) and a top up of hot water is never any trouble.
If you're going at a busy time, I'd advise booking a table as it is quite a small place and clearly popular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Kevin C and family
It's always a pleasure to see the family enjoying their meals - makes a change to university food for the girls!! We continue to serve everything freshly prepared and the savoury crumpets is near the top of favorite dishes. Booking is useful to ensure you have a table especially if you are travelling a distance. Hope that the summer goes well for you all and we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakery Tearoom also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Bakery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing