We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous- freshly made- reasonable prices- friendly service”

The Old Bakery Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: NOTE: We are closed for an autumn break from Wed 4th Oct to 16th Oct. We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas.We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a wide selection of Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our family of 4 went to the delightful Old Bakery Tearooms today for lunch. All freshly made and delicious tasting. Generous portions, value for money, unobtrusive service from friendly knowledgeable people. We agree with the positive reviews and more! 5 stars!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uglyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi uglyankee
Good to see you and the family, and all enjoying your meals. It's a privilege to know that people come here and fully endorse what other guests have said in their previous reviews. As its just the two of us, we do have consistency in what we do. Have a great summer. Many thanks. Alan and Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 375 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have visited these tea rooms several times and had the scones. They are delicious. The owner is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Will be going again on our next visit to stow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Dawn J
Lovely to see you again and its always a pleasure to see visitors on a regular basis. Next time you come we'll have to see if we cant tempt you to try something else as well! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my partner came across this little place after looking for somewhere to have a cream tea, and its just out the way in a little alley. We ordered a cream tea and it was amazing especially the scones, best we have ever had with home made clotted cream and home made jam. Hosts were very welcoming and had a lovely chat with him. Tried to go again but was unfortunately closed. Would definitely go again and would highly recommend to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank potter4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi potter4646
Good to meet you on your break and sorry that we were closed when you returned. We do try to keep to our regular closing days of Thursday and Sunday, and put a notification if this changes anytime. Hope to see you again next time you are in the town. Thanks. Alan & Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely fabulous cream tea, delicious home made scones and jam, & just wonderful hospitality. What more could you ask for. The exceptionally thoughtful owners went out of their way to make my daughters birthday very special. Would highly recommend the Tearooms to anyone heading to the Cotswolds!

Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Karen D
Lovely to meet you and the family with friends and it was a pleasure to be able to be part of your daughters 12th birthday. We hope that she enjoyed the rest of her day and will remember it for a while to come. Guess we may be seeing you all again for a cream tea soon! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

You must find this tearoom, tucked away at the end of an alley in Stow, run solely by a husband & wife team. Ask in the town if you can't find it as it's not visible from the road. The service is swift, food nicely presented & plentiful. I think all food is made on the premises by Jackie so you get that true homemade taste! Can't beat it. She makes lovely soup which I had while my husband opted for Jackie's scones.....even gluten free ones! You'll never be disappointed here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello ian2548
We've been here for over 81/2 years and its so encouraging to know that people are still finding us for the first time. We are tucked away but well signed. You are correct that Jackie makes as much here as possible and we do keep things simple but effective! Look forward to seeing you again now that you know where to find us. Many thanks. Alan & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakery Tearoom also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Bakery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing