We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bakery Tearoom

The Old Bakery Tearoom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PLEASE NOTE: We will be CLOSED from FRIDAY 7th OCTOBER AND RE-OPEN ON SATURDAY 22nd OCTOBER for our autumn break. We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas.We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a Gluten Free selection of meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00Pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays. Do ring to check if you are coming from a distance. Bookings for tables is welcomed and often necessary to guarantee a table. Parties catered for.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Over the years we have tried several cafes and coffee shops in Stow, enjoying visiting new places but never really feeling the need to return to the same one again. Until now!

The Old Bakery Tea Rooms is a hidden gem, literally! Hidden away at the end of a passageway amongst the shops. We discovered the Tearooms purely by accident, but I can definitely say that we will be going back there again. Our next visit will not be an accident..

The Tearooms are decorated in a traditional style, are clean and tidy and the owner is very helpful and friendly without being overbearing. The food and drink was of a high standard and the portions were very generous indeed. My steak platter was unbelievably tasty and to be given the recipe for the salad dressing was the icing on the cake (even though I didn't have cake).

To read about Tom and the family's story in dealing with the tragedy was both moving and inspirational at the same time and added another, thought provoking, dimension to our day.

I wholeheartedly recommend visiting this outstanding tearoom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Les P
It's a huge encouragement to us that you want to return, as many of our guests do! Although we are hidden away - you cant even see our front door from the street - we aim to offer the best that we can with proper food and portions at a price that we ourselves would be happy to pay. Thanks for taking the time to read our story - we share this not to seek sympathy but to encourage others who may have dealt with the same circumstances, and this occurs regularly! Looking forward to your next visit. With thanks. Alan & Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    51
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west lancs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous- freshly made- reasonable prices- friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our family of 4 went to the delightful Old Bakery Tearooms today for lunch. All freshly made and delicious tasting. Generous portions, value for money, unobtrusive service from friendly knowledgeable people. We agree with the positive reviews and more! 5 stars!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uglyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi uglyankee
Good to see you and the family, and all enjoying your meals. It's a privilege to know that people come here and fully endorse what other guests have said in their previous reviews. As its just the two of us, we do have consistency in what we do. Have a great summer. Many thanks. Alan and Jackie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place j”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have visited these tea rooms several times and had the scones. They are delicious. The owner is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Will be going again on our next visit to stow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Dawn J
Lovely to see you again and its always a pleasure to see visitors on a regular basis. Next time you come we'll have to see if we cant tempt you to try something else as well! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing a little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Me and my partner came across this little place after looking for somewhere to have a cream tea, and its just out the way in a little alley. We ordered a cream tea and it was amazing especially the scones, best we have ever had with home made clotted cream and home made jam. Hosts were very welcoming and had a lovely chat with him. Tried to go again but was unfortunately closed. Would definitely go again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank potter4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi potter4646
Good to meet you on your break and sorry that we were closed when you returned. We do try to keep to our regular closing days of Thursday and Sunday, and put a notification if this changes anytime. Hope to see you again next time you are in the town. Thanks. Alan & Jackie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a fabulous find in Stow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous cream tea, delicious home made scones and jam, & just wonderful hospitality. What more could you ask for. The exceptionally thoughtful owners went out of their way to make my daughters birthday very special. Would highly recommend the Tearooms to anyone heading to the Cotswolds!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanS238, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Karen D
Lovely to meet you and the family with friends and it was a pleasure to be able to be part of your daughters 12th birthday. We hope that she enjoyed the rest of her day and will remember it for a while to come. Guess we may be seeing you all again for a cream tea soon! Best wishes. Alan & Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakery Tearoom also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Bakery Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing