We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt in the way”
Review of The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Twickenham
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Felt in the way”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We visited for lunch on a rainy January day, the waiter was good and the food was good. What was totally bizarre and this was that the Cafe was taking down its Christmas decorations around us while we were eating. So we were sat there eating and decorations right next to us were being taken down and we felt totally in the way. Why they could not wait until after we had left I don't know.

I would not return for this reason. Bad customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Coffee House.
We are sorry that you found that taking down the Christmas decorations on Twelfth Night upsetting. As we close at 16:00 on Sundays it was our only opportunity to remove them.
We are glad that you found the waiter and the food good, but we are left bewildered as to the “Poor” rating and “Bad customer service” comment.

Kind regards The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    36
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We first discovered the Coffee House a few years ago on a very wet afternoon on a visit to Stow. The cafe was so cosy and staff so welcoming that we have always made a point of going there when we are on holiday in the Cotswolds. We have just had a few days holiday in the area and managed to visit twice last week, both times for lunch. The whole team, including Sam, Sue, Mike, Jess and Jenny are warm, welcoming and friendly as well as efficient. We love the comfy sofas (we were even able to book our favourite sofa - thanks, Sam!), relaxed atmosphere and excellent food. There is a wide range of very reasonably priced snacks and main courses on offer, as well as daily specials and fantastic cakes. Our only problem is that the Coffee House is 400 miles from home! However, we look forward to our next delicious lunch in 2014. Thanks to all the team!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Guest Relations Manager at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Good morning,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such an in depth and great review of The Coffee House! It means a lot to us all so thanks.

We love our loyal clientèle and it reinforces our beliefs that we are doing it right. The fact that you come to see us when you live 400 miles away is incredible!

Sam (my bro) really appreciates the mention.

We look forward to your next visit.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, we'll see you in 2014!

Thanks again.

The Coffee House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch and lovely service”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had a great lunch at the Coffee House yesterday with a friend. The restaurant was very busy, but the staff were really friendly, and the service was excellent. The food was great and beautifully presented. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KasS822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Guest Relations Manager at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Good morning,

Thanks for the great review!

We're so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our service, food and establishment.

Please come back again soon so you can enjoy it all again!

Thanks again.

The Coffee House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never felt so unwelcome”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

On arrival we were instantly made to feel incredibly unwelcome. I'm not sure whether it was the 2 buggies or the 2 children we had under 3yrs but whatever the reason, the waitress was surly and rude. It was rather embarrassing as my friends were down to stay for the weekend and I recommended we stopped there for a coffee. We were all shocked with the service and it would be good to know why we were made to feel so unwelcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaznay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Guest Relations Manager at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Good morning,

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to The Coffee House, as you can see from our other reviews our service is usually impeccable and a very important core ethos of the company.

I've spoken with the management to get to the bottom of the issue but I can do Is apologise.

Please come back again so we can rectify your experience,

The Coffee House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great coffee, very relaxing”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice coffee house, tucked away on side street off main market square. Friendly staff, comfy sofas, nice atmosphere and most importantly great coffee.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Guest Relations Manager at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Good evening,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review!

It means a lot to our family business and all our staff to hear how much you've enjoyed your visit.

Please come back again soon!

Thanks again.

The Coffee House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing