We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee”
Review of The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro - CLOSED

The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice coffee”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just called in on a quiet Sunday- had the coffee but the food also looked good. Nice atmosphere in the cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snappy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have used James Gourmet Coffee Co. for 12 years now and it has always been consistently great tasting coffee.
Next time your in Stow do come and try some home cooking.
Kind Regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    36
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heavenly cakes!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Whilst staying in a nearby hotel we dropped in only to have a coffee and cake. These were truly scrumptious. Staff were very welcoming and friendly too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank pampig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Next time you are in Stow do come in and have some lunch, also very scrumptious.
Once again
Thank you and I'll pass on your comments to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I often visit the Coffee House when I am at my house in the Cotswolds, and have never yet written a review for it.
It is excellent, for a light snack, breakfast, lunch or dinner. The bacon sandwiches are exceptionally tasty, too good to put any sauce on. The coffee, even the decaff is very good indeed,
The owner and his wife are always very pleasant and welcoming, as are the rest of the staff, so service is good even when they are busy.
They do some very nice tarts and cakes, my favourite being the apple and plumb pie, which with cream is gorgeous.
I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BobTayloruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Bob,
Thank you for your lovely review.
I realise who you are from your comments and if I say so myself, the bacon sandwiches are very tasty but I have to limit myself otherwise I would be eating them all the time.
So glad you enjoy the Apple and Plum Pie with cream - hhhmmm another favourite.
Once again thank you and see you soon.
Mike
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We popped in a for a coffee.....the smell was devine, and then I saw people eating and quickly asked for a menu and then asked what someone was having and between the menu and what I could see it was a must for brunch. Numerous people came in and all were treated the same and so our experience wasn't a one off. The younger gentleman behind the counter, serving and waiting on was extremely helpful, polite and attentive. With places like this as a bench mark you wonder why other establishments cant follow the lead........its not hard, you just have to care, and grow your staff. Highly Recommended ...and we will be back at Stow on our next visit to the Cotswolds for sure .....we want to stay in Stow and work our way a round the various establishments.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Gary,
Thank you fer your great review. I have passed on your comments about your waiter, which has pleased me also, as he is new and it's good to hear how he is doing. We pride ourselves on service and good quality home cooked food so it's very pleasing to see it in print.
When your back in Stow do come and visit us again.
Thanks,
Mike
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice food and dog friendly which is a plus when weather is poor. Does need better extraction in the kitchen though as gets very smoky when they are cooking.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A, Owner at The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your review. We have always had a policy that dogs are allowed in when well behaved but that goes for everybody really!!!
Sorry about the extraction system, we have a very small kitchen and have the policy that we keep the door open for the public so they can see what is going on and there are no cutting corners when cooking.
We hope to get a new system in at the end of summer.
I hope this doesn't put you off from coming back and we hope to see you soon.
Mike
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee House Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing