We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”

Lucy's Tearoom and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lucy's Tearoom is a traditional english tearoom and coffee shop who pride themselves on high quality, local produce. From home cooked all day breakfasts, to delicious light lunches, to freshly baked scones and cakes, there is something for everyone. Sit in our bay window with a fresh coffee for a spot of people watching, or by our fireplace with a bowl of homemade soup, or in our courtyard tea garden with a 'Stow Special Cream Tea' served on a tiered cake stand- it is your choice!
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After waiting 50 minutes and our order still not on the table, simple sandwiches, I had to ask for them to wrapped to take away, having limited time in the village. It would have been better if I had just walked, the sandwiches were inedible. The one star is for the cold drink on a hot day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanW, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Lucy's. Unfortunately we had a number of coaches that arrived at the same time on this day and everyone ordered food at once. We advised everyone who ordered food that there would be a delay in service due to this, and all of our food in made freshly to order in our small kitchen. Our bread is always fresh so I am unsure why is was inedible but again we are very sorry. We thought at the time that you left us happy and that you didn't mind taking the sandwiches away with you, so if you are in Stow again then please come in and we can offer you a complimentary meal or cream tea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 592 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Inside gorgeous
Outside front of square
Backyard delightful oasis of calm to sit in peace, admire the days shopping purchases and their plants whilst supping tea and eating gorgeous cakes. Gluten free options available throughout menu. Highly recommended is the GF scones that come with the Lucy's afternoon tea option.
Dog friendly both inside and out and very helpful staff who solved a mobile phone issue I had. Thanks a lot!!

2  Thank muchado55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanW, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family and I came to stow for the day and stumbled upon Lucy's tearoom. Upon entering we were warmly greeted and felt very welcome at once, we asked if we could sit outside as we brought our dog, Fenton, with us. The waitress promptly brought a bowl of cool water for our dog which we thought was very thoughtful and took our order. We had a cream tea which was very delightful and we could tell that the scones were freshly made! We found the waitress very attentive and friendly towards us and Fenton, thanks to her our memories of stow and Lucy's tearoom were fantastic. Jokingly We asked if she was Lucy and she told us her name was actually Claire! Can you please pass on our regards to our waitress and we wish her well for the future! We shall return, with Fenton!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pennystag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanW, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad that you and Fenton enjoyed your visit! I have passed your comments on to Claire! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The outdoor courtyard is a perfect place to enjoy the homemade food served here. The portions were ample for our lunch and the local ham in our sandwiches was very tasty. The courtyard looked pretty with lots of flowers in bloom. It was good to see no smoking sighns in an outdoor area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanW, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit! See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped by Lucys Tearoom yesterday for a traditional cream tea.We chose a table in the courtyard as it was such a beautiful day, service was efficient and the cream tea to die for! Warm scones, clotted cream and home made conserve. Staff were polite and friendly, its a winner !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpanW, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments! We are glad you enjoyed the cream tea. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucy's Tearoom and B&B also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lucy's Tearoom and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing