We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn and good food too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Porch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porch House
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Inn and good food too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We chose to eat here after reading reviews and walking around the village. Reputedly the oldest inn in England it certainly has loads of character and was a great place to go for a drink before dinner, plenty of atmosphere, diners dressed up and walkers with dogs - all welcome!
We ate in the restaurant from a menu which was not vast but still difficult to choose, because so many nice options. Starters we had the liver parfait which was superb and scallops which was also superb, but it very much looked like one scallop sliced into 4, so rather expensive for what it was!
Main course of pork belly and duck breast, with accompaniments, all excellent, served hot which is often not the case in restaurants.
Despite portions not being huge, we had no room for dessert, which certainly looked good as they were being delivered to other tables!
Service was excellent and very friendly in both the bar and restaurant and would definitely recommend a visit, to either have a drink or eat and to soak up a bit of Cotswold hospitality.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Akoni1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    117
    48
    23
    12
See reviews for
76
273
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a drink here after Christmas shopping, and were so impressed we booked a table for the next evening. The meal was excellent. Abi, our host, was very good - knowledgeable and professional but very friendly and welcoming. The pub and restaurant are lovely - very old building, cosy and atmospheric, but it has been refurbished very tastefully and has not ruined the historic nature of the place. Would definately come here again and would probably stay next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had a really lovely long weekend here. Despite booking with the previous owners, our booking (and the discounted room rate) was honoured. The staff were extremely helpful and kept the bar open when we returned late one evening. Breakfast was very good. We had the room over the bar/restaurant but didn't find noise an issue. The room was tastefully decorated and the sitting area with separate TV was a nice touch. If you want to eat here then book as it was fully booked both nights we asked. The snug is a good place to read a book and have a glass of wine. We will definitely recommend to our friends. It is also a good location for walking or pottering around some of the local shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We called at Stow-on-the-Wold on spec last Tuesday. Managed to get a room at the Porch House. We had there for lunch on a few occasions before, but the last time the standards had dropped quite a lot. When we were in Stow in September, we noticed that the name had been changed and that quite a lot of money had been spend on things like décor. The room we were given was on e of their superior rooms and was excellent, spacious and very well fitted out. We have a bar meal in the evening and breakfast the next morning. It was excellent and well worth another visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this as a place to eat also.

Room Tip: The standard room which we were shown was slightly small. It's worth the extra £20.00 or so for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 280547Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is such an amazing place with lots of history and is very atmospheric. And apparently the oldest Inn in England,built in 927 ! Started off in the bar area before going up a few steps to the restaurant. Loved the history,the ambience,the cosiness,the original features and the simple decor. Staff are very friendly and cheerful. We had a drink or two by the lovely fireplace and then went up to the restaurant,sat on the comfortable sofas with a drink and menus. Taken in to the tastefully decorated restaurant,we had ordered scallops with ginger and chilli and the curried parsnip soup,we both ordered steaks with all the trimmings and I had the rhubarb eton mess for dessert. We were impressed with every course. Loved the Porch House and will definately return. We did not stay here as we had booked in to Number Four at Stow,but would love to stay here sometime soon !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Do not hesitate...Book! Amazing staff and service, perfect decor, fantastic pub and restaurant. The attention to detail is astounding in all areas.
Stayed two nights in Nov/Dec 2013 for a weekend away from the kids.
The room was warm and plush with such great quality and detail.
In the Bar/restaurant the Food/drink and service couldn't be better. The staff are friendly, relaxed and knowledgable.
The breakfast is included and is fantastic. Homemade bread and all local produce in the beautiful conservatory area.
Brilliant, brilliant stay, thank you Porch House!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPneets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for two nights in November 2013 for husbands Birthday following a walk-out from another (un-named) hotel in the area that was definitely NOT up to our standard. Such a fabulous find! From the moment we walked in on a dark wet/cold evening we were made to feel welcome, the staff were so friendly, so helpful and very professional. The service was first class, the feature room was so amazing I didn't want to leave. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food definitely matched the 1st class accommodation. Everywhere you look there are little touches of interest, from the fabulous fires, to the pictures and curios. The restoration/renovation of this venue has been done to the highest standard. This is now my number 1 destination for mini breaks in the Cotswolds. We will most certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KpW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porch House

Property: The Porch House
Address: Digbeth Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England (Formerly The Royalist Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Porch House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House. Dining. Luxury rooms. Steeped in history, The Porch House is thought to be the oldest inn in England, with parts of the building dating back to 947 AD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Porch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porch House Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing