We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabby Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went here to watch the Rugy and have a few drinks. Great ambience, not rowdy, yummy food and log fire. Lovely position in the town square. Staff could not have been more helpful. Probably the best chips I have ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MissJWCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, receptionist at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for your review, We are very glad that you came in to watch the rugby with us and had a good experience.

If you are ever in the area again, please do not hesitate to come and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Kings Arms following our trip to Cheltenham Racing at the weekend and we found the place to be very welcoming. Our room was large and spacious, the food, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner - was absolutely lovely and the staff were very friendly. Having stayed in Stow previously and having looked round what else was on offer in the area last weekend, we definately stayed in the best place, the Kings Arms. I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Receptionist at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the races were good for you as well.
If you are ever in the area again and you want to stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us and we can see what we can offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Sunday lunch lots of veg and steaming gravy!! I had booked earlier in week,starters were okay-soup was lacking in seasoning and it wasn't that hot. The main was dreadful- the carrots you could not put a fork in, I like my vegetables crisp but not just shown the water, again the meal was not that hot and for the price I would have liked to see the veg in dishes, but the other veg we're mange tout and French beans and there is plenty of fresh veg around. We did have a small spoonful of cauliflower cheese!!!! In fact it was a slimming meal - however the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powysViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Receptionist at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for our review, I can only apologise that you did not have a enjoyable time with us. We will be having a word with the kitchen to find out on this and get them to explain why this has happened.
We are pleased that the staff were helpful to you, and I hope that they helped you in every way that they could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We booked an overnight stay and an evening meal in the restaurant and found the staff more than helpful and attentive. The 17th Century room was full of character and comfortable but the bathroom, whilst modern, was cold. The uniquely styled restaurant has a quirky appeal and the food was well cooked and good value. All in all a good stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LeeAbigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Receptionist at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review, We are glad that the staff were accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into sorting out the temperature in the bathroom but are just looking at all options.
If you are ever in the area again, please do not hesitate to come in a visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was the worst food and had to wait 45 mins the rolls contained scraps of meat which could have been anything.The chips were white with blackspots on them. As far as value for money we paid £8 95 each for this debarcal.. It was embarrassing we had brought family out to Stowe and were looking forward to a pleasant lunch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank David m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed in this ancient inn with my daughter for two nights. Our room, which was very spacious, had a really old fireplace, uneven floorboards, leaning walls and beautiful old brickwork but also all mod cons and a lovely, newly-fitted bathroom. The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Stow and has limited parking. Breakfast was only OK, not helped by having to be brought up 2 floors, but acceptable. All staff that we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had the only twin room (Room 5) which was large and comfortable, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenseyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a lovely place to stay if you're visiting the area. The pub is over 500 years old and full of quirk and charm, plus the staff are friendly and helpful.

It couldn't be more central to the shops and restaurants in Stow-on-the-Wold and also has a small amount of parking - a tricky thing to come by in Stow.

The staff we spoke to were all Stow residents, so were very helpful recommending restaurants and giving directions to other villages.

We stayed in room 5 in the main building which was large and airy with a beautiful stone fireplace in it. The bathroom was small but modern with a hot and powerful shower. All the floors and walls are wonky (a nice thing, in my mind) and plug sockets are located in odd places but that's only to be expected in a building as old as this.

Whilst the kitchen is on the ground floor for some reason breakfast is served upstairs, so our food was not as hot as it could have been but it was perfectly nice.

If I went back to Stow I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shingleberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is a quirky raditional Country Inn offering a warm welcome with traditional English food, real ales and wines available both in the ground floor pub and 1st floor restaurant with views of the Market Square, whilst our cosy bedrooms and cottage rooms offer the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful countryside and local Cotswold attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing