We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked by my boyfriend for 2 nights (21-23 July)
We arrived at 8pm after spending the day in Cheltenham. Did not struggle with parking, although I can see how it can be a problem. We checked in very easily and were told about breakfast times. Our room was Imperial Call which was located at the top of the stairs, facing the market square. Again, I understand that the steep stairs could have been a problem but the spring chickens that we are (aged 21 and 26) we managed fine.
The room was lovely. Just the right size for 2 people, bathroom was also the perfect size. The only problem we had with the room was it could be very loud. Facing the market square you had a lot of noise, especially from lorries/cars early in the morning.
On our second night we had our evening meal in the restaurant. The food was delicious - beer battered fish & chips and sausages & mash. The restaurant itself was quite small, fitting only a handful of tables but was nice as you didn't feel crowded. Staff were very helpful and chatty.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, the staff were very friendly and the location was lovely. Would visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mooshell210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thankyou for getting in touch and posting such a positive review about your stay with us at The Kings Arms. Positive feedback is appreciated by the whole team and thank you for finding the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night only as we had been attending a wedding, we booked in at just before 11.00pm we parked right outside the hotel and the car stayed there until we left Stow around midday on the Sunday morning, we were given a warm welcome on arrival, and we were allocated room 9 named the Desert Orchid room, we were aware of the steep stairs to our room, but that didn't bother us at all, you must remember that this hotel is 500 hundred years old and these sort of things all add to the atmosphere of the place, my husband is nearly seventy and there was no problem getting to our room which we were very happy with, it was lovely and clean, with a king size bed and a window seat that looked out over the market square, we popped down to the bar for a late night drink and then went back to our room, next morning we went down to the restaurant for our breakfast, my husband liked this room very much, we helped ourselves to toast and fruit juice, there was also a selection of cereals, and yoghurt, not long after we had sat down we were asked if we would like coffee or tea, which was quickly delivered.
We were then asked what we would like for breakfast, again we didn't have to wait long, it was bought to our table piping hot and it was one of the best full English breakfasts that we have had, after that, a quick walk around Stow and it was time to depart, the staff were very pleasant, we were very glad we stayed here and would stay again.

Room Tip: This room faces the Market Square so expect some noise, and the Church bell does strike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evergreen1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for such a fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Actually stayed in Bourton on the Water but decided to walk into Stow for some good exercise but decided to stay for lunch but very good indeed, service was very good also the food was very good, highly recommended would visit again no problem

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KMGVJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We really look forward to you visiting again. Many thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived in the evening when we were greeted by a female member of staff, she was extremely helpful and given my height offered to move myself and my partner into a room which would be more accommodating. We were moved into the Cottage suite which was absolutely amazing, the layout was greatly planned with the bed being upstairs on a kind of balcony setting and downstairs being a lounge and bathroom. The breakfast was also of a very high standard with staff being professional and the food also being the same.

Room Tip: Get one of the Cottage Suites / Garden Suites (Outside of the main hotel) Rooms 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageJoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for such a lovely review. Its so much appreciated by all when our guests find the time to give us such nice feedback on their experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have stayed here before in one of the three garden rooms - never the main building. The hotel is old and the literature warns you to be careful moving about the place but nothing prepares you for the precipitous stairs that lead to rooms 8-11 located on the third floor.

Parking is very tight at the rear of the hotel, but at least it saves you from fighting others for a space in the market square which gets very busy. The check in smelt unpleasant on check in but we never smelt it again - we thought someone may have relieved themselves at the rear of the place the night before.

We were allocated room 9 on the third floor and no assistance was offered with our luggage. Opening what looked like a cupboard door we were faced with the steepest and narrowest staircase we had ever seen - surely this cannot meet heath and safety standards. The climb would have challenged Hilary and Sherpa Tensing! After manhandling our luggage up the wooden hill we were faced with another set of stairs to negotiate.

The room was a standard double with exposed beams and stone work. The en suite was just big enough to swing a cat and the space saver toilet needs a new liquidating unit as it moaned and groaned every time it was flushed. The extractor located in the shower was insufficient to clear the steam and consequently the ceiling was mouldy.

The room was never dusted and the carpet not hoovered during our stay and the sheets were never changed. The bed was on the hard side of firm and the floors were very uneven. However the room being at the front of the property had a magnificent aspect overlooking the market square and there was a nice window seat from which to enjoy the view.

Our sleep was interrupted every morning at 5 am when the church bells tolled on the quarter hour and hour marks and the main street lighting pylon in the square was in line with our window and the very bright lights were disturbing if you have to keep the curtains open to catch a breeze through an open window on a warm night as we did.

Breakfast was edible and dinner was acceptable, but standards seem to have fallen since we last stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 8 to 11 unless you are a keen mountaineer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonHollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

What a shame you were so disappointed with your stay with us! We have read through your review carefully and taken all of your constructive comments on board and we will make sure these points are rectified where possible. It's never nice to recieve an average review but it's vital we know where we have fallen short so it gives us an opotunity to correct things where required

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife booked us for a three night stay at the Kings Arms as an anniversary surprise and we were not disappointed by the experience. All staff were friendly and we were lucky enough to stay in the Desert Orchid room on the top floor...yes the stairs are interesting but that makes it more an experience - you cannot stay in as old a building without it being "interesting"-you cannot say the same for a "clinical " modern building! The room was superb with a good view out across the market square . The location made it a good base to explore out into the surrounding towns
We dined in on both nights and were treated to a feast of very high quality and tasty meals .We had both evening meals in the main bar area and found everyone friendly and helpful with a very good table service for a busy evening. Our second meal was the "pie and pint " night-totally not what we expected for a bar meal - proper meaty pies full of taste of restaurant quality.Having been lucky enough to have stayed at some more "high class" establishments i can honestly say the food here beats them hands down. Breakfst was of as high a standard as the evening meals .. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon is superb and the full english is one of the best!-especially as it uses local produce.
Our overall vist made our twenty fifth anniversary a memorable one...our thanks to all staff involved.We will definitly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

A fantastic review!! We're so pleased we could help you enjoy your '25th Anniversary' with us! Our chef team were very pleased to hear how highly you rate their food as they are very proud of the quality of the food they send out to our customers. We really hope you stay with us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at The Kings Arms Hotel for three nights, I had contacted them prior to ask for room with shower instead of bath and this is what we received. The Kings Arms is a very old building and access with a car does appear difficult at first, we finally parked in a restricted 2 hour spot.

Check in was efficient, and the receptionist very nice. We had a room in the outside cottages, which we were very pleased with. We brought the car round to the small car park and had no problems with this, however, there are only about seven spaces and these cannot be reserved, but although Stow was very busy and also the hotel we managed to park each day on our return. However, there are some very inconsiderate people who drive their large cars in at an angle and block two spaces, but this is not the fault of the hotel. Our cottage had a seating area, and tv downstairs, plus the toilet, sink and shower. Upstairs is the bedroom with a double bed and dresser.

Good Points: Bed linen and towels very clean, with fluffy towels and cotton bed linen, and surprise surprise clean pillows. The bed was ok.

Downsides:
The bed is placed under the beam so that one side of the bed is in a very dangerous position, and although I am only 5ft 2 tall I had to bend double to walk around the bed, so anyone with disabilities or very tall would have some difficulty, ok you can get in the other side but when someone is asleep and you need to get out then that's the only way. The bed post is also very near to the stair banister, so some people may find this a squeeze.
I know its an old building but there was a large amount of dust on the beams, window sills and the doors. Large cobwebs in some areas as well. It only takes a long handled brush to get rid of them.
The carpet in the seating area was stained especially near the sofa, and there was two large stains on the bedroom carpet each side of the bed.
The toilet seat was loose, the hand basin was ok but the lights in the bathroom were in the wrong place, no mirror lights or shaver points. The shower had a very poor flow, and the water did not go down the drain very fast as a result you are standing in your shower water. It is also a small shower compartment but it was ok as we are small but again, some may find it a bit tight.
I realise that some of the problems described is due to the age and size of the building, put the maintenance could be better.

We did not eat in the restaurant except for breakfast which was ok, there is a choice of cereal, juice, water, toast etc. Orders are taken for the cooked breakfast, and tea and coffee. I had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon one day and it was delicious. The upstairs restaurant has some tables with glass tops and unfortunately I ripped a new pair of slacks on one of them, the corner had a chip in it and it also scratched my leg. Unfortunately there was no management on the premises and we were leaving that morning, however I was told to replace them and send them the bill fair enough, but the table tops are dangerous and at eye level for young children. The waiter said that they tell parents about it when they bring children in. One last point on our third night we could smell dog, which we hadn't done previously. Next morning it was now very strong smell of a sweaty dog, which we think was in the next cottage, as there is a dividing door. I know that the hotel allows dogs, but personally I don't think it is hygienic for others staying there.

All in all not a bad stay, but probably wouldn't stay there again as there are much better and cheaper places near by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda H, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Its such a shame to reieve an average review from our guests, but we take on board all constructive comments and act on them as best we can to put them right for the future. We can only offer our apologies for some of the struggles you found with your visit with us and hope you try us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,497 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £81 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is a quirky raditional Country Inn offering a warm welcome with traditional English food, real ales and wines available both in the ground floor pub and 1st floor restaurant with views of the Market Square, whilst our cosy bedrooms and cottage rooms offer the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the beautiful countryside and local Cotswold attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The Kings Arms Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing