We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum and Fantastic Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotswold Cricket Museum - CLOSED

Cotswold Cricket Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum and Fantastic Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A dream for all cricket and sport lovers! The Cotswold Cricket Museum is an ideal way to spend a few hours exploring a wonderful collection of cricketing memorabilia dating back to when the game began, through to the current day. The owner (Andy) is very welcoming and took the time to explain the history and detail behind several exhibits. I would recommend taking the quiz as you delve deeper into this vast collection.

Make sure you have time to enjoy a coffee and the delicious home made cakes!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank slotty1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    20
    5
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited the cricket museum only expecting to be there for a short time but found ourselves staying much longer than expected and also making use if the dining facilities there. At a cost of only £3.50 for the museum and very reasonable food prices we were very pleasantly surprised at finding this gem on our visit to the Cotswolds, even my wife enjoyed it hugely despite not being a cricket fan! Time well spent indeed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golden273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Museum and wonderful coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

When visiting the Cotswolds I would highly recommend stopping here - it is a hidden gem. Located in the Brewery Yard on Sheep St it offers visitors light relief from the hustle and bustle of the market square. The owners are extremely welcoming and hospitable and whether you are travelling alone, as a couple or a family there really is something for everyone. Cricket fans can enjoy the museum upstairs which is surprisingly big and has a vast array of cricket memorabilia - a real labour of love. Visitors can enjoy taking part in the quiz and the museum, above all, offers fantastic value for money - the entrance fee is so cheap in comparison to all the other attractions in the area, and in the rest of the country. The tea and coffee lounge is relaxing and comfortable and there is lots of room. There is loads on offer in the way of both food and drink and the coffee is lovely. The home made cakes are the best I have had! Overall, I would highly recommend the museum to all my friends and family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank em2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time well spent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant unexpected find. An absolute cricket lovers dream. On a trip to the Cotswolds for 2 nights and enjoying the chocolate box villages and stunning views. We never expected to find the museum and never knew existed. The museum is so good that you need to spend a lot longer than the hour we spent in there. There is so much to see, read and to listen to on the audio commentary from historic games. Enjoyed the 20 question quiz as well. The owner was very hospitable and welcoming and a very good source of cricket knowledge. We didn't have enough time to stay longer than an hour or so but We would definitely return to the museum and easily stay for the whole morning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekey6063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wish we had had more time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

What a find tucked away in Stow this gem of a museum. The collection contains some varied & fascinating articles & I would have listened to the Bradman talk all afternoon had time allowed. Definitely worth the £3.50 entry - note to owners - we stumbled on it advertise it more!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank griffmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotswold Cricket Museum also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing