We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delight - just look at the war memorial”

St. Edward's Church
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
kent
Level Contributor
540 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A delight - just look at the war memorial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not quite your romatic, picturesque Cotswold church, but centrally located in this stunning town, so worth the effort to visit. It is smart, tidy and quite large, but perhaps church-lovers would like a building that displays age and wear and tear more so. The best part of the church is the HUGE war memorial which has been cut straight onto a wall by a very talented engraver. It is normally surrounded by many wreathes too. It is about the finest war memorials that I have ever seen ............... worth the few steps from the town square to see this alone. They gave their lives, so give them a few minutes of your time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    60
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss seeing the back door!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Cute little church worth a peek inside, but we mainly went to see the fascinating trees on either side of the back door. Very picturesque! Based on other reviews, I wish we could have attended a service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindafonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochlocknee, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Evensong in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

as we exited the car for dinner, we heard the bells ringing and went in for evensong. Nice to have a worship opportunity away from home and it was a good experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JWII35162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place to attend church if in Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in Stow-on-Wold and enjoyed an 11am Sunday service. We appreciated the music, sermon, and the warm hospitality afterwards. They serve tea and cookies and my family all got engaged in interesting conversations. My 8 year old son ended up helping the ladies serving tea. My husband, other son and I had a very warm conversation with the rector.

We felt so welcomed even though I'm sure they're used to folks passing thru. Thanks!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a Detour When in Stow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We attended an early Sunday morning service in this beautiful little church. There were probably only a dozen or so local worshipers, and almost all of them took time to welcome us after the service. See the other helpful reviews for comments on the history and spooky side door. (The day before, as we returned from a hike around Bourton and the Slaughters, we happened upon the end of a wedding service at St. Ed's. The bells were ringing madly and we saw many of the guests, turned out in top hats and formal attire -- a nice memory from a great visit to Stow and environs.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MandR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Edward's Church also viewed

Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 

Been to St. Edward's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing