We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place”
other travellers have booked this property
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Heath Barn from the pony field with autumn colours. View from sitting area towards dining table and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Heath Barn from the pony field with autumn colours.
View from sitting area towards dining table and kitchen.
View from kitchen towards dining and sitting areas.
View into sitting area with Clearview log fire in action.
View of Barn across the terrace.
Daffodils in bloom around the Barn.
Master bedroom with view into en-suite bathroom.
Main ensuite bathroom for master bedroom.
View from gallery towards kitchen area beneath.
Extra fifth single bed on gallery.
Second Bedroom which also has its own ensuite bathroom.
Guest en suite bathroom towards bath area.
Close up View of Barn.
Fresh bluebells in the wood.
View from Master Bedroom towards the Bluebell Wood.
View from Master Bathroom through glass 17th Century peep hole!
View from dining area in barn out towards our farm.
Christmas decorations.
Laid up for a special event showing off its generous space!
View from second master bedroom over our farm beyond.
Main gates to our front drive on the Foss-Way between Stow and Moreton.
Looking through the trees skywards!
Spring lambs and sheep to greet you on the front drive.
Cheltenham Racecourse at The Festival Meeting in March, only 16 miles west of us.
Warwick Castle situated half an hour north of us.
Historic Oxford, just 30 minutes to the East of us.
The Cotswolds right on our doorstep!
Medieval Stow-on-the-Wold, 2 miles south, with nice restaurants, shops and pubs.
Fun Bourton-on-the-Water with lots to see and do, only 5 miles to the south.
Famous Arlington Row in Bibury, lies 25 minutes to the south east.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nickp999
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our second visit to this gorgeous converted barn and it won’t be our last !!
Like a home from home in the Cotswolds !
It’s every bit as good as it looks in the photos , both the inside and the outside views.Francis and his wife are readily available if there are any issues and also very helpful with tips and advice about pubs / walks / restaurants etc ...
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your nice review and it would be great to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great cottage for children as well as adults”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We just got back from a lovely stay at the heath barn. It is such a great location, short drive from the villages around, but surrounded by nature. It was clean and ready for us, with an extra cot and high chair (and all the basics you need for the first night at the cottage- then there's a big tesco not to far). The kids plaid outside in the lovely field, and we could see them from the kitchen so it was great! There's plenty of animals for the city kids to enjoy. Then driving to Broadway, and chipping campden was very easy... We'll definitely be back, many thanks to our hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We do try to make everything here special. We very much look forward to seeing you all back here again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flowersan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“RELAXING, FANTASTIC AND PERFECT TRIP WITH THE FAMILY”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a last minute holiday away and what a wonderful surprise. The Barn is just perfect. As soon as we arrived and drove up the beautiful driveway, to the incredible Barn, we knew we were going to have a wonderful stay. The host, Francis Mander is just an amazing man - he is humble, kind and very accommodating. You cannot be in more wonderful hands. The Barn is gorgeous and welcoming, with food, wine and all of the essentials you could require. The bathrooms are beautiful, with huge fluffy towels, bubble bath, soaps and hand wash all ready for you. You really don't need to bring anything with you except your clothes. The log fir is fabulous with loads of ready cut wood in a log store outside, free for when you need it. The 2 double beds are amazingly comfortable and the single bed in the mezzanine is a real special touch. The washing machine with washing powder and the dishwasher with tablets is so useful too. We brought our collie dog with us and she had the best time, running in the woods and fields. The heating in the Barn is perfect and the hot water is constant. There is every single kitchen utensil that you could possibly need and the TV/Radio/CD system is excellent. There is nothing that we can comment on in this accommodation. It is PERFECT. We just wish you could have spent longer here and enjoyed the surroundings and beautiful accommodation. Thank You Francis - a perfect stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you so much for all your nice comments. We are so glad you all liked our wonderful barn so much, and that you noticed all the effort we put in. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaka2
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and Barn but could be better...”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location of the barn cannot be faulted, close to great walks, villages and easy to get to . We had a great time with the dog walking and exploring.

The Barn itself is well planned, styled and designed and feels very homely and cosy even in the bad weather it is light and comfortable with dual aspect full length windows in the middle . The sofas are comfy and the kitchen is adequately equipped for your needs. The log fire is great and heats the house well combined with underfloor heating .
Be aware that one of the double bedrooms is on an open starred mezzanine with no door do limited privacy and there is no shower just shower heads in the bath.

If you are expecting 5 star quality and cleanliness you will be disappointed it is a country barn that is great as a base for walking and experiencing the area and is comfortable and warm . However we did find it had not be cleaned well at all, The oven was dirty so we couldn't use it , the microwave still had crumbs mess and kitchen paper in it from previous use, the glasses and the bins were very dirty and when we arrived there was a really bad smell which was dead rotting mouse in a bin .....so clearly it had not been cleaned throughly for a while !!! ..... The bedspread was stained and the valance of the bed was dirty . So once we had given the kitchen and utensils and good clean we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: a little shabby and dirty
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
I just noticed this comment. Again this was on the one occasion that we had to bring in contract cleaners who did not carry out our instructions properly. We were away that day so it was not possible on this occasion to double check the cleaners as it was a fast turnaround. It was very bad that they missed the oven, plus interior of the microwave, and other crumbs found in the kitchen area. The cleaners would definitely have done a good clean apart from that. The mouse it transpired was inside the umbrella stand which we admit had not been checked for a while. The bed spread had been cleaned but has some ink type stains that did not wash out recently and we will now have to replace it. We really apologise for what happened on this letting, and please also note that there have been nothing but good comments for the past year. We do try to avoid using contract cleaners and on this occasion we were really badly let down.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanmJ168...
Albany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely barn, set in a beautiful location, but close to places of interest”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really enjoyed the barn and surrounding area - very convenient location to key areas of interest, and yet we enjoyed the benefit of a peaceful setting for our stay. The barn is well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, and we were lovely and warm with the benefit of the wood burner. Great hospitality from Francis in showing us around upon arrival, and really appreciated the bottle of wine and biscuits. Nice walks around the local area, and enjoyed watching the wildlife in the mornings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and overall appearance of the barn - very authentic.
Liked least: Shower over bath (missed having a full shower), patio and garden would benefit from weeding and tidying up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We try hard to make our barn experience a special one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontevecc...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Peaceful yet great location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything we could have hoped for. Excellent value, peace and quiet yet still within a couple of miles from Stow [including Tescos] and Moreton, with Bourton-on-the-Water a few minutes further south.

Idea for all the Cotsworld charm and excellent National Trust houses [Upton House, Snowshill and Chastleton were special favourites], with Blenheim a short drive away [book on-line to save money on entry fee].

A couple of maintenance items but told the owners so they can fix them- if people don't tell owners, they can't put things right. The Barn coped with the 34 degree heat, no aircon [it would be an intrusion].

Francis, it would be really helpful to convert some of the small ground floor triangular fixed glass to opening vents, with fly mesh, to get a good through-draught up through the bedrooms without having to leave doors open. Summer flies can be a nuisance but being close to horses and the open fields you have to expect them and everything's provided to deal with them!

Would thoroughly recommend The Barn for families, it works well if people visit, with the lovely open plan ground floor arrangement. Everything you need to habnd and some lovely places to eat in surrounding villages: The Old Stocks in Stow, the Horse and Groom at Bourton on the Hill were our 2 favourites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and central location for Cotswolds
Liked least: Flies, but manageable with everything provided to keep them out!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We have had our plumber sort out the taps which can get damaged when tenants over tighten them has been an issue. Regarding the very small triangular windows it would be impossible to make these open, and so to get cool air at night it is best to open the roof light windows a little, and in the day time open the barn doors works best. To help on the fly management we are really good at putting out sticky paper to absorb and trap any insects or flies! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traditional converted English barn, set in gorgeous Cotswold countryside”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Heath Barn recently. It is set in such a peaceful, rural part of Gloucestershire, that was the perfect tonic for getting out of London. We spent the afternoon walking around the local area (only a 5 minute drive to either of the beautiful villages Stow on the Wold and Moreton in Marsh as well as checking out the amazing Bluebell Wood on the grounds.

We even got good weather. Couldn't have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bluebell wood
Liked least: Took us a while to work out how to get the hot water on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your nice comments and we hope you or your friends may come and visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing