We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Ideal Vacation Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
42 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hoffmansb...
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Vacation Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to England in June with another couple and had the good fortune to stay at the Lilac Cottage in Stow-On-The-Wold. This is a cozy, comfortable, delightfully decorated home with all the amenities you could hope for. It is walking distance to the picturesque town for shopping and many wonderful eating spots. We cooked breakfast in the well appointed kitchen every morning before setting out on our adventures. At night we had a glass of wine in the small but green garden. The town is centrally located to many other delightful day expeditions. We could not have asked for anything more comfortable or convenient. Cannot wait to visit this sweet home again.
Cliff and Cathi Hoffman

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and ambience of cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage. After travelling so far, it's very important that you are comfortable when you arrive so we're very pleased we managed to provide that for you all. One of the reasons we bought Lilac Cottage was because of it's location in Stow with its easy access to so many other lovely towns, villages and attractions. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erikbse
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Be warned, the word beautiful will be used repeatedly in this review. Went there with my beautiful wife, child (4yo) and parents. It was a great extended weekend despite the rain. Picturesque landscape and small towns. The cottage itself was lovely, beautiful little garden and housed us comfortably. Had all the the necessary appliances etc. Stow-on-the Wold is a charming, beautiful little town well worth a walk, nice restaurants. It is very well situated with regards to day trips to various places in the Cotswolds. Burton-on-the-water was idyllic. Definitely recommend the cottage and location.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
I don't think the word "beautiful" can be used too much! Thank you for your comments and we're glad the rain didn't put a damper on your visit.
Thank you also for your recommendation of the cottage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheryljea...
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed forever at the Lilac Cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013

My husand and I and another couple spent a wonderful week at the Lilac Cottage in Stow-on-the Wold in the Cotswolds. The cottage consisted of a sitting and dining room combination, a well equipped kitchen and a powder room on the first floor. There were two lovely bedrooms and a full bath on the second floor. The view from the windows on the second floor over the gardens and into the distance was beautiful. The garden in the back of the cottage was wonderful. The flowers and trees were in full bloom. The village of Stow is delightful. Lovely stores and many very good restaurants. The owner of the cottage, Dianne, is a pleasure to work with.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and village
Liked least: When we get really old, the stairs to the second floor could be a challenge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your compliment about working with me - our guests are always polite and courteous so it's always a pleasure to take them through the booking process and help with any questions and information. We try to provide a "home from home" for our guests and hope to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna2567
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is an excellent house with everything a family could need. It is exactly like in the photos on the website. A short stroll to the town centre. Stow is in the middle of everything you want to see. The kids didn't want to leave most mornings. The downstairs loo was a bonus. Hope to go back one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
So pleased your family was comfortable at Lilac Cottage and thank you for mentioning the accuracy of the photographs on the website; it's good to know when you book something that it will do "exactly what it says on the tin !" We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
We very much appreciate your positive feedback on Lilac Cottage - we do try to "go the extra mile" to make our guests welcome and give them a comfortable, enjoyable stay.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul R
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The best holiday cottage in Stow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have been coming to Stow at leaat once a year for a decade and have stayed in a number of cottages there, but Lilac Cottage is the best by a considerable distance. It is perfectly situated - close to town with a lovely garden and a view over the countryside from the bedroom. Inside, it is beautifully designed, very well apppointed and immaculately maintained. It has virtually everything you could want or need, right down to thoughtful little touches like a welcome package of wine and biscuits. Sitting out in the garden is a perfect way to spend an afternoon and in colder weather the interior is a warm and cosy place to keep dry. We are looking forward to coming back soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: TV was a bit small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage - it is very reassuring for us that we are providing a comfortable stay for our guests. We are always looking to improve where possible and since your stay the cottage has been re-decorated.
We are pleased that you were so happy that you have booked again for next Spring and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super: exactly as described and expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Firstly the booking process could not have been more efficient.

This a lovely cottage in a lovely part of the Cotswolds. Just 45 mins from Oxford and Cheltenham and warwick.

I don't usually give 5 out of 5 but it is hard to fault this cottage, perhaps a bigger tv, perhaps a more powerful shower, but this really is nitpicking. The cottage is very comfortable and has everything needed, the digital box with catch up tv and free wifi is great as I could watch a game on my tablet and the news in bed.

There are a few things to keep the kids entertained, but ours as always brought a bag of toys.

The welcome of cake and the china out made my wife's day. She used to work in the community in the Cotswolds and this brought it all back.

The cottage has the perfect mix of comfortable and twee of what you would expect staying in a Cotswold cottage

The location is great and is a great base for exploring the area.

The garden is lovely and I imagine I the summer is lovely to sit out in.

All in all I would prob give this 4.7 out of 5, and is excellent value for money. If you are thinking of booking a 2 bed roomed cottage in the Cotswolds, I don't think you will find better than this.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and style and it is obvious the owners care about the guests experience.
Liked least: Slightly weak shower and two arm chairs not that comfy. Nitpicking really here.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2013
Thank you for your comments - we are very pleased that we fulfil guest expectations.
We note your comments concerning the TV and the shower because we welcome objective observations when planning our ongoing programme of improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$85
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing