We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Cottage with a Bundle of Character”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarah W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming Cottage with a Bundle of Character”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A group of 5 school friends stayed here for a weekend break. The property provided everything we needed and suited our requirements perfectly.

Rooms are all tastefully decorated and are welcoming. The property is equipped with everything you need for a relaxing or active break - there's also a washing machine and dishwasher to minimise household chores during your stay. Umbrellas and walking/rambling tools are even provided by the entrance door for those who want to venture beyond the main streets of Stow.

The property is moments away from the centre of Stow on the Wold - you can be at a dining establishment within 3 minutes on foot. A minute more and you can be exploring the shops.

Stow is a lovely place to visit for a weekend break. My friends and I had a great time, and our stay was enhanced by the loveliness of our accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property has a warm and charming character - loved it.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your "Girls' Reunion" weekend.
Thank you for your kind comments on Lilac Cottage - we strive to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable.
We much appreciate your comments on the convenience of the location of the cottage which really helps future guests when making a decision on a rental.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentishma...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lilac Cottage provided us with everything we needed for a week's stay in the Cotswolds. Situated in a quiet cul-de-sac it was only 4 minutes walk into the centre of Stow and it's quaint Tea-rooms, shops and pubs/restaurants. The cottage was freshly decorated and the decor perfectly balanced to combine the new with the old characteristics. Despite a very cool wind and the odd shower of hailstones while we were there, the cottage kept warm and cosy with the option of a log fire if needed. The perfect place for rest and relaxation and an ideal base for exploring the beautiful villages and towns in the area.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Although we have several very positive reviews, each new one is just as much appreciated as the first. It's reassuring to know we're providing what our guests need.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.

Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dreuxsgir...
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our cozy cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

My family rented this cottage in Stow-on-the-Wold for two weeks in November 2013. It is located in the oldest village in the UK and vacationing here is like taking an adventure into the past. We loved every minute of our time here and our stay in Lilac Cottage was amazing.

The residence was beautiful, comfortable, and just a few minutes from the center of Stow. We really enjoyed being able to walk upon the ancient streets on brisk winter mornings and then duck into local tea rooms for mouth-watering fresh scones and piping hot tea. When we returned to the cottage fatigued from of shopping, we would light the fire place and snuggle up to it with a good book and a blanket.

Upon arrival, we were pleased to find a gift basket filled with a cherry cake, Cadbury chocolates, and a bottle of Champagne. The table was beautifully prepared with a quaint tea service, equipped with everything we might need. The owners even thought to brighten the cottage with cheery yellow roses! The kitchen was well equipped and functional. Our bedrooms were located upstairs and the beds were comfortable and the linens clean. When we looked out of our windows, we had the most beautiful view of the gardens and hills. The property had a large modern bath next to the bedroom (with shower and tub) and a half-bath on the first level. At the end of the first week, a maid arrived to clean and change the bedding and leave us a new supply of bath linens. The cottage's washer and dryer was functional and had directions for it's use.

When ever we first arrive somewhere, we always search for "the binder" that includes information for the details of the rental and information about the surrounding area. This one even included a local contact (yes, a real person) that would be available to help us out in an emergency. This is a first!

Our family travels frequently and I know my in-laws (retired educators in their 60s) thought this was by far the best rental they have ever encountered! My mother-in-law was really surprised by the care she received from Dianne (the owner) both before and during the stay. Emails were returned promptly and the level of attention with quite amazing. She even helped us pre-order flowers to be delivered on the first day of our stay to celebrate a special birthday surprise.

Overall, Lilac Cottage was wonderful and we would return again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Lilac Cottage and Stow on the Wold. The Cotswolds really is the perfect part of England for our overseas visitors to experience an English village and to get a feel for English history.
It was my pleasure to help with pre-ordering - I like to feel I've done my best to make our guests welcome and to help them get the most from their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbrett290...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at Lilac Cottage during one of the few weeks last summer when the weather was a bit unpredictable and not all glorious sunshine as had been the previous four weeks!!!! Lilac Cottage is in an ideal location for exploring The Cotswolds and we particularly loved Bourton-On-The-Water and The Slaughters. Our advice is to go to Bourton early before the coach parties start arriving!!

The cottage was spotlessly clean and was one of the best equipped we have stayed in. Decorated to an extremely high standard, the cottage was cosy during the rainy days but lovely and cool on the couple of sunny days we had and the beautiful garden was an added bonus on those days. The bottle of wine and cake we found on our arrival were a lovely welcoming touch.

We could easily walk into the center of Stow where we found some really lovely restaurants and tea rooms. Treebus serves an excellent breakfast and our favourite for an evening meal was The Vine Leaf. The peaceful yet convenient location of the cottage meant we had a very relaxing week and would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and location of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about Lilac Cottage and we will endeavour to maintain (and hopefully improve) the standard for your next visit. We're glad you were comfortable through good and bad weather - the one thing we can't arrange!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, destination and Owner”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Lilac cottage and the Owner Dianne....
We stayed at Lilac cottage for 5 nights over Christmas and could have easily stayed for twice as long.. Firstly the Cottage was perfect, we felt completely at home...
Dianne decorated the cottage with a Christmas tree and decorations which made our Christmas very special...
The lounge room is very comfortable with an open fire around a comfy sofa and chairs... We had a large dining table in the very spacious lounge room and the entire room was decorated perfectly , just how you would imagine an English cottage...

The kitchen has all the utensils needed and all very clean and in great condition...The two bedrooms are upstairs and were also decorated exactly how you would picture an English cottage...All beds were extremely comfortable and the temperature of the cottage in Winter was seriously spot on... The bathroom is upstairs and such a bonus having a bath... Stop in at one of the Lush stores beforehand and purchase some bath products...We bought ours in Oxford.
The Cottage is picture perfect from the outside and has a very large outdoor private front yard.
The town of Stow on the Wold is walking distance from the Cottage although we drove.. Dianne recommended where to Shop for groceries, where to dine , where to go for afternoon tea, day trips , markets etc ...The Porch House in Stow is a must for dinner as is the Indian restaurant and Digbeths... Our Favourite being the Porch house but would definitely try each...
We also cooked a roast in the cottage , all appliances very easy to use.... There is a manual for everything in a folder if unsure of anything.. The organisation of the cottage is impeccable
Dianne phoned us a couple of days after arriving to check that we had arrived safely and incase we had any questions... I felt like I was talking to a friend, and will be forever grateful for Diannes friendliness and help leading up to our trip
I have stayed in several apartments with booking agents and not one compare in anyway to Lilac cottage and Dianne
Thankyou Dianne for everything, you went well and truly beyond our expectations
I cannot recommend Lilac cottage highly enough, but as much as we absolutely loved the cottage and our trip to the Cotswolds, dealing with the Owner Dianne made our experience perfect
Hope to return one day

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Honestly, everything
Liked least: we Loved everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Wow! What a fabulous review. Although we have received mostly positive, and many glowing, comments from our guests, it makes us feel that we are welcoming friends to our home when we receive comments such as this. It's a pleasure researching information needed with the added bonus that I feel I have done everything I can to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests. I realise you live a long way from England but we would love to welcome you again to Lilac Cottage some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowman19...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We always try to take a holiday just before Christmas and somewhere that is in keeping with season. We have found the most comfortable and charming cottage in Stow on the Wold, it is in the best position you could think of and lacks for none of the modern day amenities but at the same time has all the traditional trappings as well. It is only a very short walk to the village centre with all the attractions you could want, fabulous pubs,shops and eateries.
It is so conveniently sited in the Cotswold's that nowhere is to far to get to.
I can thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone and will be going back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on Lilac Cottage, we are always glad that our guests are comfortable and happy with their choice. We stayed at the cottage ourselves mid-December (again) and the run up to Christmas is exciting anywhere, but we think it's even more special in Stow and the Cotswolds generally. Hope your stay put you in the Christmassy mood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoffmansb...
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Vacation Cottage”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to England in June with another couple and had the good fortune to stay at the Lilac Cottage in Stow-On-The-Wold. This is a cozy, comfortable, delightfully decorated home with all the amenities you could hope for. It is walking distance to the picturesque town for shopping and many wonderful eating spots. We cooked breakfast in the well appointed kitchen every morning before setting out on our adventures. At night we had a glass of wine in the small but green garden. The town is centrally located to many other delightful day expeditions. We could not have asked for anything more comfortable or convenient. Cannot wait to visit this sweet home again.
Cliff and Cathi Hoffman

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambience of cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments on Lilac Cottage. After travelling so far, it's very important that you are comfortable when you arrive so we're very pleased we managed to provide that for you all. One of the reasons we bought Lilac Cottage was because of it's location in Stow with its easy access to so many other lovely towns, villages and attractions. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing