We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and quiet cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Bobski201...
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and quiet cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in April, and found this cottage to be very cozy, warm, and clean. The home is on a quiet street, and the entire town is walkable from here. The Bell pub is a very short walk and had terrific food. Since we stayed for only 2 nights, the price quoted from Trip Advisor was less than the price quoted from the owner. This is due to incorrect calculations used by Trip Advisor, But, we had excellent communication with the owner, and came to very fair quote to make both parties satisfied. We would, without hesitation, stay here again when visiting the Cotswold's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
So glad we sorted the pricing problem and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We, and our Housekeeper, work hard to maintain a good standard at Lilac Cottage and we take great job satisfaction from such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisawhitt...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed with my Partner and two children for New Year.
What a gem, hidden away in a quiet ideal location to explore Stow and beyond.
Perfect place to stay in a beautiful part of the world.
We will recommend without hesitation.
Thankyou and Happy New year!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Lisa, thank you for your very positive review of Lilac - we are yet to experience a New Year at the cottage, maybe this New Year's Eve!
We are so pleased you describe Lilac is "a gem" - that's certainly how we feel about it.
So glad you had such a good start to the New Year, thank you for your good wishes and we wish you and your family a happy and successful 2016.
Regards
Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Four of us, two adults and two children (11.5yrs & 14yrs) had a fantastic time over autumn half-term in this wonderful cottage. The cottage wants for nothing, has been very tastefully decorated and furnished and the log fire was lovely to light and relax in front of come an evening.

The cottage is in a quiet side road on the edge of Stow, but within three minutes walk you are amongst a good variety of shops, pubs and restaurants. There are plenty of other nice villages within a short drive, or bigger places slighly further. All in all though, we couldn't have chosen a better place than Stow as our base, nor a better cottage to spend our week than Lilac Cottage.

Thanks you for such a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything added up to us having such a wondeful stay.
Liked least: Nothing at all let us down.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Firstly, I apologise for my tardy response. Thank you so much for your kind comments on Lilac Cottage and, indeed, Stow. We have just returned from a few days there ourselves and even in not-so-good weather, the cottage and Stow are lovely. We too enjoyed a roaring fire to toast our toes. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards
Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Mic...
Watford
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lilac Cottage is right on the edge of the town. It is down a quiet cul-de-sac. You can walk into the centre of Stow in 5 minutes which is great as parking is not easy in the town centre. There are lots of restaurants to choose from in Stow so no need for a designated driver when you go for a meal. Stow has lots of interesting shops and is in a good centre for exploring th e Cotswolds. The cottage itself has a cosy cottage feel. We were just sorry it was not cold enough to light the fire that was all set up for us as this would have completed the picture! The bedrooms are a good size as is the bathroom. It is very clean and nicely decorated throughout. There is a lovely big garden at the back which would be lovely in the summer. Well stocked with essentials like washing up liquid ,loo rolls etc. We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your kind comments. Since you didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the open fire, perhaps we could welcome you again when there's snow on the ground and you can sit in front of the fire drinking hot chocolate. Or perhaps in summer when you can sunbathe in the garden. Hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian l
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Can't believe how great this cottage was the pics don't do it justice...clean, comfy and relaxing and great location for stow. So nice sitting at night in front of a log fire. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Was so impressed we have booked again for February and have a feeling we will be regulars

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
All our endeavours are well worth the effort when we receive such wonderful feedback from visitors. It gives us (ourselves and the Housekeeper) great satisfaction to know our guests have enjoyed their stay - so much they return. We look forward to welcoming you again in February.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01MER
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage, with lots of thoughtful touches, in a lovely Cotswold village”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We appreciated the wine and box of biscuits and also the hiking sticks and lots of information and books about the area.
I would have given five stars but the oven trays had not been cleaned and this was not dealt with although it was reported. We also had problems with the alarm in the kitchen which kept buzzing as the battery was failing. The housekeeper told us to take out the battery but it took us four days to find out how to do it....our lack of experience of these things.
However these minor problems did not affect our enjoyment AND it is a lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: oven trays not being clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you for your complimentary comments on Lilac Cottage. Regarding the alarm battery, we do provide replacement batteries and I apologise for the oven not being dealt with. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baiyor
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lilac Cottage exceeded all our expectations. It was quiet, very nicely furnished, comfortable and had every amenity we as first time visitors to the Cotswolds (from the US) could have needed or wanted. Access to nearby villages via rental car or by foot in many cases was easy. Each evening we had a myriad of very good restaurants to chose from; walking around the village of Stow-on-the-Wold day and evening was at our doorstep. I would highly recommend Lilac Cottage as the perfect cottage for a short or extended stay in the Cotswolds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the views to the garden and beyond
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Cotswolds and that we were able to provide a comfortable base from which you could explore. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing