We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub great food friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Stow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at the white hart with friends last weekend, just a light lunch and the menu was perfect, and reasonably priced. They were able to accommodate a large party with no notice and we had a warm welcome upon arrival. Definitely with a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carrie87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Stow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

My boyfriend and I went to stay here for a mini break on his birthday with our dog. I was so happy with our choice.Then rooms are lovely and quaint (we stayed in the stag) and we ate in the restaurant in front of the roaring fireplace. I couldn't fault the food at dinner or breakfast. Finally we were made to feel extremely welcome (and our dog who didn't pay more for his stay) it was a perfect mini break!

Make sure you come here for food or a stay,we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The white hart is one of our favorite places to eat out, the service is great ,very attentive and friendly and the food is always excellent. The menu is really varied wich we love and changes often so theres always something new to try. If eatting out in stow and you want to have a turly delicious dinner it really is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jessica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed 1 night at the White Hart with my partner for a little post Christmas R & R. Stow was as quiet as I've ever known it and so was the Hotel. I booked the Stag room as recommended by other reviewers & it's big, comfortable & with the huge bath in the bedroom itself, slightly quirky.
The en suite shower room is nice, but in common with so many, has no place in the shower to put soap or shampoo & no shelf near the basin to put toiletries or toothbrushes. (No tooth brush glasses either) All little things (no bin near the tea/coffee making facilities either) but so easily & cheaply correctable. At the prices charged, I felt these were oversights. Had dinner there too & though I thought the menu very limited & we were the only two in the pub all night, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The scallop starter was exceptional & main courses were good too. After a good, quiet night, we were served a lovely fresh breakfast in a very lonely dining room by a lady who (unlike all the other staff/owners) who seemed like she didn't want to be there. All in all, good stay, top end for price & needs a little attention in my view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Another great weekend with friends, we have becoming here for many years, ownership of The White Hart has changed hands many times but the new owners have certainly brought the place up to standard but still keeping the old charm. The rooms are boutique but charming, the food is excellent and great selection of wines and spirits. The owners always make us welcome and fantastic hosts. We will all be back next year and certainly would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book the Stag room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonahcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at this gorgeous place. We were made to feel really welcome and with a toddler in tow it's hard to find places that accommodate little ones. They let us store his milk in the kitchen and warmed his meals for me which was really helpful. We had a cot in our room (the large Stag room) and there was still plenty of room left for us!
The front and back bar areas are all very cosy with the stunning old features, but brought up to date with décor. The fire places were lovely and warm, and the restaurant was really funky, in a tasteful way!
I actually wanted to live there!
Now to the food......AMAZING. We cannot fault it and planned both evenings, to have 3 courses each so we could try as much as possible. Yes it's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. If you are a foody, you need to come and eat here. As parents, we could stay in the Stag room and we bought a monitor with us so we could enjoy drinks in the bar, and food in the restaurant in a beautiful place.
Thank you to the lovely family who run this, and the staff that helped make it memorable.
We want to come back already!!!!

Room Tip: If you need a cot in the room, go in The Stag.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I plus two friends have just been to stay at The White Hart and I can only say, it is without a doubt one of our best weekends away to date (and we go away alot)!! The rooms are so comfy, the place is spotless and the owners and their son are simply fantastic hosts but above all the food is to die for!! Fabulous local produce, excellent value but above all, sublime in taste. We would all highly recommend this place and we will visit them over and over again! The hosts are Mark, Janine and Zack and I can only say professional and fun but these comments do not do them justice really, so go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: The 'Stag' room is fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Stow

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £89 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Stow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are intending to stay overnight, there are five rooms to choose from, ranging from the stunning “Stag”, with a free standing bath in the bedroom, to the snug “Fallow”. All rooms have been recently re-furbished, blending ancient stone and woodwork, with contemporary style and sophistication.Some come back hoping to meet The White Hart Hotel’s non-paying guest, a friendly ghost whom the locals have nicknamed ‘George’. He sometimes manifests as a vertical white light after closing time in the bar, but only rarely appears as a figure – and then apparently for a reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The White Hart Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The White Hart Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing