We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart Stow
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to The White Hart Hotel for dinner during our stay in Stow in May. It was a Sunday evening . We were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived & when we left. One member of staff doing the bar & restaurant..it was a wet evening & the place was very cold. The food was very disappointing as it was cold when it arrived.The glasses on the table were far from clean & the waiter really didn't want to know. We didn't have dessert as the waiter never returned to the table & in the end we had to go to the bar & ask for the bill. Will not go here again. Must say out of 10 days holiday it was the only restaurant that didn't serve good food .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOS1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    70
    28
    18
    11
See reviews for
18
141
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greasby , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice 12th century inn with nice real ale bar, good food this is value for money, and comfortable rooms. Nice, helpful and unobtrusive service.The bathroom was very well appointed and the shower was excellent; all those hotels who have either frozen or scalded me in the past please note.
The title refers to the low arches in the corridor and the slanting windows and floors.
I guess the guests were midgets in the 12th century as the room was on the small side.

Stowe is a pretty and quintessentially English town, all made of Cotswold stone. This and the next town Bourton on the water ;look like they come from a Midsomer murders set; I half expected to meet John Nettles walking up the street, but this was the only disappointment in very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's a bit bigger. I think you might have to book well ahead on a weekend. One fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the White Hart on spec on a Sunday night as the first two places we tried could not fit us in. We were greeted in a very friendly manner and made to feel welcome. We had a drink at the bar while we perused the menu and then we're shown to a table. The decor is WhiteHart themed and almost Baronial but homely at the same time. As it was Fathers Day we were given two menus, the standard restaurant one and a Fathers Day special. We were told we could choose off either and mix and match. We had local asparagus and poached egg to start and it was eggs-cellent. My wife had the chicken supreme and Asian slaw for main and I had roast beef and all the trimmings..... What a joy. Desert was sticky toffee for the lady and cheese for me, again 10 out of 10 on both counts. All in all service great, decor great, food great.
Just Go. You will not regret.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in Stow for the bank holiday weekend and decided to book dinner here for Saturday night - food was delicious, service was professional and slick, really enjoyed our meal and will be back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter as we were attending a wedding nearby. Staff were friendly and welcoming; food (dinner and breakfast) was lovely.
The inn is an old building, so floors and doors creak (yes there was a gap under our door), and the decor is perhaps more shabby than chic, but the room was clean, the bed comfy and we enjoyed our stay. The view over the market square from the window seat in our room (Muntjac) was interesting, although partially obscured by the sign hanging outside the window.
Parking is round the back of the inn and is not signposted (ask at the bar) or park in the square overnight (there are restrictions by day).

Room Tip: If you're going to be coming back late at night, Muntjac is right at the top of the stairs so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here as a birthday treat for my wife as we promised ourselves that we would stay in Stow having driven through on an earlier short break. We stay in many BB's/hotels in the UK.
We were attracted by the 'comtemporary decor description and reviews'

We booked by telephone and were told that usually there is a two night minimum booking, However, we were informed we could have the 'Fallow' small doulbe room for £80 including breakfast.
We arrived and were shown the room. it was 'Cosy' (small) but we expected that.
What we did not expect was to see cobwebbs hanging from the ceiling in all corners! An oversight perhaps as only a one night stay? Room not prepared? We dont think so, as we booked and paid three weeks previously so there was plenty of notice!

We then decided to have a rest on the bed and opened up the 'tastful comtemporary throw'. As we were looking at the picture nails on the walls wondering why there were no pictures on them, we saw that there were stains on 'tastful red throw/bedspread.
We assume the previous occupants had had an enjoyable evening by the appearance of the throw! Not amused...rather disgusting actually.
We decided to mention these issues to the proprieter/manager. We dont know who he was as we didnt get told his name when we arrived, he did not seem to feel he had to mention this to us...nor did we know his relationship to the property.... on arrival he asked us to sign..explained where the carpark was and took us upstairs..... (not friendly in the least)
There was a woman behind the bar in place of the man and when asked whom we should speak to about the room, she said er..me, she did not give her name, nor explainantion of who she was...

There was no apology after our complaint, or even an offer of a complimentary coffee or drink while we waited for them to clean the room and change the bed! The woman did say 'sorry about that' on her return...that was it!
Our issues were rectified, but there was no 'personal friendly service.
We did not wish to eat here because if the cleanliness in the room, was an indicator of the kitchen,....well,......it was in our opinion overpriced as well.
(My wife and I walked a little way up to the 'Old Stocks Hotel' and had an exceptional meal, friendly staff, and it was value for money.)
We had breakfast in the morning at the white hart, and it was OK. Nothing to rave about.We handed in our keys to a different member of staff who served our breakfast...dont know who she was....

Room Tip: Take a duster and anti bac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I decided to go to Stow-on-the-Wold for a weekend break and a friend recommended the White Hart Stow. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
The room was great, the food was excellent. and the staff are friendly and extremely professional.
I intend to go back to the area later in the year and will definitely stay at The White Hart.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stow-on-the-Wold hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Stow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Stow

Property: The White Hart Stow
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Stow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are intending to stay overnight, there are five rooms to choose from, ranging from the stunning “Stag”, with a free standing bath in the bedroom, to the snug “Fallow”. All rooms have been recently re-furbished, blending ancient stone and woodwork, with contemporary style and sophistication.Some come back hoping to meet The White Hart Hotel’s non-paying guest, a friendly ghost whom the locals have nicknamed ‘George’. He sometimes manifests as a vertical white light after closing time in the bar, but only rarely appears as a figure – and then apparently for a reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The White Hart Stow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
The White Hart Stow Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing