We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A clean, peaceful lodge in a great location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Lodge

Brook Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brook Lodge
Car Parking Outside area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Brook Lodge
Car Parking
Outside area
Outside area
View
Kitchen/diner
Lounge
Living area
Twin bedroom - view 1
Twin Bedroom - view 2
Single Bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Matthew P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A clean, peaceful lodge in a great location but.....”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights for our wedding anniversary and a friends wedding. The lodge is a cozy size for 2 -3 people and nicely secluded. If like us you want some piece and quiet with only a field of cows and sheep for company then this lodge is ideal. The kitchen has everything you would need for a short stay and the place is kept very clean and tidy. It is also in a good position to visit Stow and any other area of the Cotswolds. We left very happy however we did have an unwelcome call from the owner on our drive home. We had used the third bed and they rang up to question this and complained to us that they now had to wash and change the bed before the next guests. They then went on to complain that they had asked if we wanted to use the bed and that we had said no. I can snore occasionally and during our stay was keeping my wife awake so she did go and use the third bed in another room. We could not have predicted that she needed to do this and as far as we were aware had booked three bed lodge. We can see how this might be a little annoying but you do not ring up a customer and moan about it. My wife trains house keepers and receptionists in a well known hotel chain and was not impressed with this level of customer service. We would have thought a spare set of bedding would be an essential and basic thing to have for a holiday cottage and this put a big dampener on our otherwise great weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comments. The price charged is structured on the amount of guests. You have use of all the rooms but beds are only made up for those guests that are booked in and paid for. Otherwise it would mean I would have to charge the 3 guest rate to all visitors. I would point out it was a case of washing the mattress and pillow protectors that your wife slept on. I apologise if you felt it was rude of me to mention this and I will endeavour to inform all future guests of this prior to their arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretH...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, rural retreat-lovely.”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location was perfect for us. Nothing to disturb us other than the bird song. We literally could not fault the lodge and all its attributes. Clean, tidy, comfortable and everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay. We will definitely return and stay longer, when there is availability.
The nearby towns/villages of Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water are delightful to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Explore68...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed our stay in Brook Lodge very much. Loved the birds, the field, the clean accommodation and the peaceful surroundings. If anyone likes a quiet atmosphere and has a car, it's a perfect place for a retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurreyLin...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An ideal retreat!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Brook Lodge with my teenage daughter for 4 nights in August. The purpose of our trip was to carry out some research in order to find our own little holiday home in the Cotswolds and, if Gay had been prepared to sell Brook Lodge we would have needed to look no further.
The lodge is set within the grounds of a fishing lake (although the lake cannot be seen from the lodge) and away from the road, overlooking open fields offering total peace and quiet. It was a five minute drive into the gorgeous village of Stow-on-the-Wold and gave easy access to some wonderful Costwold areas.
The interior of the lodge was spotlessly clean and well organised. Everything required for a cosy, pleasant stay was awaiting us and we immediately felt at home there. The beds were very comfortable with nice linen and a good selection of towels were provided.
I would strongly recommend that you choose Brook Lodge if you are seeking a 2 bedroomed, rural property for a peaceful stay in the heart of the Cotswolds, for a very reasonable charge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the cosiness.
Liked least: A few spiders but hey....it's the countryside!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing