We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good food make this an enjoyable place to stay”
Review of The Clothiers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stroud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clothiers Arms
Ranked #9 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food make this an enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here with a friend while on a short walking holiday in the area and both of use were very pleased with our rooms and the stay in general. We were using public transport and so location was important - and this is only a short walk from the station so ideal. All the staff were very friendly, and the food in both the evenings and at breakfast was very good. Breakfast for a fiver is exceptional value. It was also busy with lots of locals (unlike many of the other pubs in the town!) so I think this also proves how good it is. The only downside of this is that there can be some noise in the rooms until the bar shuts but not enough to be a problem. I would book here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their bathroom along the corridor (still a private bathroom but not actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
27
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have stayed at the Clothiers several times now and have yet to be dissapointed. After staying all over the country in poor accommodation and flat pack room's companys such as Travelodge offer, the clothiers with its relaxed atmosphere and homely feel is a breath of fresh air. Excellent clean rooms, quality food with very friendly amenable staff. Thank you and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotatoHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The four of us really enjoyed the stay. The room was great, food really good and the staff were all very helpful, friendly and hard working - a Good Team.
We also enjoyed Lilly B on music night.
Thank you for managing to fit in the rest of walking group on Saturday night.
Everyone enjoyed their visit and thought the food very good and good value
One said it was the best venison he had eaten - praise indeed.
So, all in all, A big Thank You from everyone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian3452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The service was wonderful, with a good mixture of friendly staff and great Food. Good location with a homely feel. Priced reasonably, comfy beds and clean rooms what more could you ask for!! Thanks for making my stay great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishprincess142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Have been to the clothiers a few times for lunch now, and it is brilliant value for money. 2 main meals for £10 from the board. It has a good choice of food and staff are always helpful and friendly. on one occasion we had a party of three, and they still did three meals for a fiver each. After a short wait received meals with good sized portions and very tasty food.
Won't hesitate to visit again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed overnight here a couple of weeks back, as I was in the area and according to the good beer guide they have several good local real ales on tap, which they did, but no food the sunday evening I was there. The staff were friendly. The room was ok, clean but with a strange arrangement of bathrooms out in the corridor, which had no heating on. I had that sorted. Later that night i found the bedroom had very thin walls with tv noise making for a poor sleep. Breakfast was ok.
Overall, I would not return and felt it was a over priced at £45 plus a fiver for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Didn't stay overnight here, just came for a drink. Pub was a local one and a one half was attractive, one half run down. We sat on the sofas and were quickly covered in ants! The pub is fine, service was friendly, they have a few local ales on tap, and the pool table works. They allow dogs too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stroud hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viner House
Viner House
#29 of 33 in Stroud
26 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 33 in Stroud
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clothiers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clothiers Arms

Property: The Clothiers Arms
Address: 1 Bath Road, Stroud GL5 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Clothiers Arms Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing