We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and nice weekend break”
Review of The Clothiers Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stroud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clothiers Arms
Ranked #9 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money and nice weekend break”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Clothiers Arms last weekend, just one night. Staff was very friendly, we arrived earlier, the room was not ready but the lady went and asked for us and gave us time when we can come back, also took our luggage and locked it away. When we returned from Farmers Market, room was ready and suitcases already there.
Room was big, very comfy bed. Telly a bit of a small side but ok.
Overall impressions good, we will definately come back to stay again. It is value for money.
Check-out time is 10.30am, but we were allowed to stay until 11 when I said we work long hours in the week and nobody disturbed us in the morning.
There is complimentary tea/coffee, biscuits and bottle of water.
I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    38
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
27
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I went to The Clothiers arm for some late afternoon lunch with my family. The food was a very reasonable price and the portion sizes were just right. Additionally, the preparation and presentation of the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly, and we will definitely being going again. Would recommend to anyone who wants a reasonably priced pub lunch with friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There was just one person staffing the bar when we arrived, who seemed to be serving drinks, serving food, and welcoming guests, so we did have to wait 5 minutes or so to be signed in. We were given a friendly welcome however, and the rooms we were shown were good value for the price (one was well-appointed but with no view, and the other a bit more drab but with a view towards the town).

We were out most of the time, but the rooms were comfortable and had all we needed, and the breakfast was nice - smaller than some, but with fresh and probably local ingredients. Although we did not eat lunch or dinner there, the food looked excellent and the beer well kept. Good value for money and I would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Front rooms if you want a view, although these are above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A stay at the Clothiers Arms during February was excellent
Staff were really friendly and accommodating
Room was fine
Restaurant food really good
Bar and selection of real ales topped off a good stay
Location to Minchinhampton common and wide open spaces

Room Tip: Double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We organised Sunday Lunch here for 18 fellow MG Car Owner enthusiasts.
Everybody was full of praise for the quick and efficient service, plentiful portions, good selection of veg, beautifully cooked, tasty and served hot!
It was difficult to choose from the pudding selection on offer, and again all delicious.

Marvellous value as well!

Room Tip: This was just for Sunday Lunch, not for a stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had one of the best Christmas Meals here, the food was hot and of excellent quality. There was more than enough food for the party of 25. The staff as always friendly, efficient and helpful. Everyone enjoyed there meal. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Twenty six of us ate on time with the food served hot and all at the same time. The food was the best I've ever tasted at a pub and the service was second to none. When I explained that I had just been diagnosed with gall stones and had to eat a fat free diet, the chef came out and said that he would cook my sea bass without fat and make me an individual bowl of vegetables and potatoes with no butter on them. Nothing was too much trouble. The prices were reasonable too.

Room Tip: We didn't stay the night, we only had lunch there. If the rooms are as good as the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKaySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stroud hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viner House
Viner House
#29 of 33 in Stroud
26 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 33 in Stroud
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clothiers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clothiers Arms

Property: The Clothiers Arms
Address: 1 Bath Road, Stroud GL5 3JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Clothiers Arms Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing