We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fish and Chip shop!”
Review of The Big Fish

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Big Fish
Ranked #67 of 139 Restaurants in Stroud
Cuisines: Fast food, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chip shop!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I went here with my Uncle for a pre-season football game against Forest Green Rovers, and we saw this chippy on here and see what it was like, very nice and a generous fish and chip shop. It gives you a mountain of chips even though it's 'small' size chips. Very good for value for money! I would defiantly go here again if Swindon play FGR again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remo-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best fish &chip shop in Stroud”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having sampled all the chip shops in the area I can say without doubt that the Big Fish is the best value, largest portion size, always with fresh fish & service with a smile

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great chippy!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

This a very nice and a generous fish and chip shop. It gives you a mountain of chips even though it's 'small' size chips. Very good for value for money! I would defiantly go here again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rcarzz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Stroud if not Gloucestershire”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Lived in Stroud 20 years since this place change hands to the current owners the other fish and chip 30 yds away a had so many owners. Best fish and chips in the area also very reasonable on price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank single-dad-glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,146 helpful votes
“The Big Fish--A BIG HIT!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On my second visit to friends in Stroud, they took me to their "chippy" for my first meal in England. All I can say is "wow!". The fish was delicious--not a speck of black, moist, flaky, with wonderful batter. We got a MOUNTAIN of chips and a side of mushy peas and washed it all down with Strongbow. I collapsed into bed a very happy woman.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Lori12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Fish also viewed

 

Been to The Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing