We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion Lunch”
Review of The Old Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Lodge
Ranked #6 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reunion Lunch”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Recently enjoyed a buffet at the Old Lodge for a group of ex employees of a local Stroud company. The food was of excellent quality and plenty for our 60 participants. The room we dined in which is the formal restaurant was very well laid out for our party. Hopefully will be returning again in the futurre

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    80
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
60
120
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Approaching this place, with the cows, horses and dogs wandering around I had wondered what my boyfriend had brought me to! However, once inside, its perfect. The food was delicious and served quickly, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexxypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My boyfriend and I were on our way back home from a long weekend away, and didnt want it to end, so we were looking for a nice place to eat late afternoon, a lot of places had stopped serving lunch, so after looking on the internet we came across the old lodge.
I must admit driving upto this place is just so pretty, the cows on the common just come straight upto the car and really have to fear at all, We pulled up to see this gorgeous place which is so pretty there is a small seating area outside which is just lovely if you get the weather, and there were horses just walking around near the car park it really did make our afternoon seeing this as city folk it's nice to see.
We had called and booked a table on the drive down but when we arrived there didnt seem any need, We were greeted by a friendly barmaid and said a table has been reserved but we can sit anywere we liked, we walked right around and settlled for a small table in the resturant area. There were a few couples and a family who looked like there were just finishing off as it was quite late in the afternoon, we didnt mind this at all.
The barmaid was friendly and chatted to us for a few mins and let us sample a few ales to help us which to go for, and our menus were given, we didnt have to wait to long for our order to be taken, but the food did take longer to arrive than what i thought it would as it was so quiet but our starter was worth the wait of baked camembert and garnish of salad to share, we could of done with a bit more bread but i think that was just us being greedy!...
We did wait a while again for our main which we had both gone for the homemade burgers which we were asked how we would like them cooked which was a nice touch. The waitress was lovely and very friendly and asked us how our food was and kept our drinks topped up and even give us a bit of history on the place which was a nice touch and ended our lovely long weekend on a high.
Our experience here was a really lovely one, We would defo try this place agin possible on an evening?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

I came to eat for a nice lunch with my boyfriend after trying to find somewhere who were still serving past 2:30. After driving around the whole of stroud we remembered that the old lodge was in a really lovely location and seemed like a perfect place to eat because we had been up there to have a few drinks when the weather was somewhat warmer and it was gorgeous. When we arrived we walked up to the bar and asked if we had lunch to a young man who said yes and stared blankly at us, I then proceeded to ask awkwardly for a menu (as he was just stood there with a blank expression) and he just handed them to us and walked away. We then had no idea where to sit as the staff weren't being particularly helpful and we again awkwardly sat down at a random table not knowing if it was part of the restaurant or not. Having chosen what we wanted we waited for ages for a waitress to take our order, there were about 5 young staff behind the bar chatting so I just got up and ordered at the bar. Our food then came however my boyfriend had ordered the breaded and fried brie as a main and it came at a starter portion after I explained to the young man twice that I wanted it as a main. He still ate it and it was absolutely lovely, my duck was cooked to perfection however the sauce was a little burnt and bitter to my liking and I usually will eat anything but left the noodles. We sat around again for a while for service and eventually after a long while a girl came and cleared our plates. We had a lovely dessert which was a gorgeous gateau ( again ordered at the bar after staff seemingly blanked me and walked straight past my table, which this time was deserted for a good 10 minutes while I stood and waited for someone to take my order). After the appalling service I just wanted to pay and leave. As a waitress myself I expected more from the staff and disappointed by their standards, especially as the resteraunt was far from busy and the bar seemed over staffed.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cookie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The room was very clean and well kitted out - tea making station, basic bathroom, desk and mirror, TV etc and staff were friendly.

We are a family of vegetarians, and they were more than happy to cater for us. The breakfast was delicious and done to a high quality.

Location was good - close to Stroud and beautiful countryside across the common. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to somebody else.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor is above the pub and gets a bit noisy when you're trying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mabel-the-Westie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We went with friends last Tuesday and although the main resturant only had two tables occuppied we were asked if we had booked! Our response was "No, but it shouldn't be a problem seating us should it" looking around the empty room.
The food was nice however we assume we paid the premium for dining in the main resturant as opposed to sitting in the bar as I considered the food to be over priced for what we had, beer battered fish and chips, two 10oz burgers (a lot of shrinkage) and a cheese souffle, all costing around £14.00 each. As I said, nice but not outstanding and the resturant it self lacked warmth and character.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tallbear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a beautiful old building, and our room (No 1) had been recently done up, including the bathroom. The bare Cotswold stone chimney wall was an attractive feature, though beware tripping up on the slightly raised hearth, my husband kept on stubbing his toe! The bed was very comfortable, and staff friendly. Not a five rating because the shower was very low pressure, and the pump extremely loud in the bedroom. The dining room has stunning views over the surrounding golf course. We had starters and puddings as quite full, the gooseberry sauce was missing from my pudding, having mysteriously mutated into custard! - the helpful waiter offered to go back to the kitchen, and came back saying he didn't think he was going to win that argument with the Eastern European chef, however he did eventually find some!

Breakfast was good, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had the largest room, (no 1) with great views over the front of the hotel, I believe some of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lodge

Property: The Old Lodge
Address: Minchinhampton Common, Stroud GL6 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Pub and Restaurant with a friendly courteous team. We welcome groups, families and dogs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Stroud
The Old Lodge Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing