We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visits consistently good”
Review of The Old Lodge

The Old Lodge
Ranked #25 of 140 Restaurants in Stroud
Price range: US$15 - US$48
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A 400 year old hunting lodge set on Minchinhampton Common in the beautiful Cotswolds, The Old Lodge restaurant provides a fairytale setting in which to dine. Built in traditional mellow Cotswold stone, The Old Lodge, at one time a hunting lodge owned by Henry VIII, is surrounded by beautiful manicured lawns ��� ideal for summer time al fresco dining ��� while the interior avoids clich��, with traditionalism eschewed in favour of understated contemporary style. So while original old beams and pillars might remain the overwhelming impression is of a thoroughly modern restaurant with a sparkling, lively atmosphere. Views of the common meanwhile are enjoyed through vast floor to ceiling windows. The Old Lodge���s kitchen combines impeccable sourcing with stunning presentation to create a cuisine as beautiful as the restaurant itself. With most ingredients purchased locally, dishes are naturally imbued with a British flavour despite a thoroughly cosmopolitan influence from Europe���s most noted culinary nations.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Regular visits consistently good”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I am very surprised to read negative reviews as we have been regular visitors to this lovely old building with its quirky modern interior for more than four years. We always sit in the bar area as we will have at least one large dog with us as part of the pleasure of visiting this location is the amazing views for miles and the opportunity for a good walk pre and post dining. To give you an example of today's particular visit. Friendly service, well kept beers, a delicious lunch, not cheap but fair pricing - the opportunity to enjoy great produce that is cooked with care whilst being in relaxed clothing etc. Perfect after a hectic week at work. In the past we did have one meal that was not up to the standard that we have grown to rely on - a chat with one of the staff and the situation was rectified in a calm and pleasant manner - I cannot ask more than that personally, and I am known for being fussy and my husband has a short fuse re any aspect of poor quality so if he is happy to go there regularly that is a good barometer! I cannot understand why this listing is under Stroud however when it is right on Minchinghampton Common a few miles from Stroud. Finally my large dog was very impressed today when one of the staff gave her a couple of dog biscuits - thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneJHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    68
    35
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor quality of food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ordered the chicken with gnocchi. Over cooked chicken in a creamy soup, gnocchi reminded me of play dough - I am of Italian/Aus citizenship and have tasted all kinds of gnocchi - have never tasted anything quite like it. Had an uncooked dough texture and was mixed in the creamy soup. Husbands meal was also disappointing - he has the duck.

Sorely disappointed. Insisted my husband dine here. I stayed at old lodge when I visited UK in 2009 and food was to die for.

We were the only people in restaurant so unsure why food quality was so poor. We were the only people in the restaurant. This was the only disappointing dining experience we had during our 3 weeks in Europe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmccurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Haven on the hill”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent a single night at the Old Lodge and wasn't disappointed. Clean, comfortable room in a lovely setting. The full English breakfast was a welcome wake up. The only slight wince made was at the cost of a taxi into the village... A tad steep but hardly the fault of The Old Lodge. Overall, impressed and would definitely stay again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eynon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub spoiled by poor service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The location of the Old Lodge is wonderful and pub itself is a beautiful old traditional Cotswold building that is well decorated. Myself and some friends visited on a Sunday in need of a good roast dinner. The food did not disappoint. However, our visit was spoiled by extremely poor service which left a sour taste in our mouths. There seemed little or no organisation behind the bar, every member of staff appearing flustered or unsure of what was going on. I asked if it was a particularly busy day, to which one staff member replied, 'It's not that busy, we're just not very good'. To add to the confusion of not being told when we could sit at our table, and the annoyance of having to wait ages for food, a vegetarian eating with us was charged full price (£15) for a roast dinner without meat.

Our complaints were ignored and no apologies were given throughout our visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellscardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, great food - but very hard seats”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A spur of the moment choice for dinner with a friend visiting from away. Great food and service. Sat in the small area "behind" the bar on the way to the restaurant - and after an hour or so the hard wooden chairs proved to be exceptionally uncomfortable. Maybe should have gone in the restaurant instead!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Lodge also viewed

Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 
Birdlip, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing