We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and excellent service make The Bear a pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and excellent service make The Bear a pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Myself and some friends stayed over here recently and we were very impressed by the hotel. The faux medieval decor in the rooms won't be to everyone's taste but everything worked, everything clean and grounds and communal areas were spotless. Best of all, the service was impeccable in the restaurant and in reception. we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiikeyMiikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    311
    109
    40
    21
See reviews for
101
476
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Although the hotel is comfortable and stylish, we suffered poor quality customer service.

Worst of all was the restaurant. Having booked a table for dinner at 7pm, nothing had been served by 7.45 when I asked a waiter the reason for the delay. He said it was because there was a special event taking place that evening. Some comfort to my wife and I.

We walked out in disgust and although the manager followed us to apologise, and offer a free dinner, the damage had been done. I felt insulted.

We had dinner at a pub instead, and left the following morning, cutting short our stay by two days.

We also found the bar service to be clumsy, with drinks being spilled by staff and completed orders being incorrect.

Most of the staff were foreign, some with limited command of English. Perhaps this was why they appeared to be unwelcoming and unfriendly at times.

I would not return to this hotel.

My tip: avoid this hotel at weekends, especially when it is hosting an event such as a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We live in the area and used to visit the Bear for a drink almost every night. We watched it grow shabbier and shabbier until eventually we stopped visiting. Now, everything has changed. The fusty, fraying upholstery has been replaced and the old decor has been changed. to something that manages to combine cosiness, comfort and 21st century chic. We travel all over the country and I cannot think of a nicer place to enjoy a latte and a warm shortbread biscuit on a Sunday morning.

Outside is just as lovely. The planting scheme that surrounds the little courtyard is full of softly-scented tobacco plants, lilac petunias and white giant daisies. It's a delight.

The staff, too, are extremely pleasant. We walked in the other day and the young woman behind the bar started making our regular order without even being asked.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for one night to celebrate my birthday, having stayed here about 5 times previously. Since our last visit a few months ago renovations have taken place and we were a little disappointed to see that the hotel has lost its quirky olde worlde character. The bar area has been modernised and the stone walls have been painted cream - large mirrors and modern tables and chairs have also been installed and the former sitting room (which was a lovely place to sit and relax and read the papers) has been turned into an extension of the bar by knocking down part of a wall, taking out the sofas and replacing with dining tables and chairs. The Box Tree restaurant has been redecorated with wallpaper which is covered in books to make it look like library shelves and it looks really tacky, there was nothing wrong with it before.

We have visited several of the other hotels in this chain and they are all very similar in decor but we kept returning to the Bear as it had character - I don't think the renovations have done it any favours to be honest.

With regards to the food, the 3 course dinner and service were once again excellent, the food is very well presented and excellent value for money. However, we had lunch in the bar when we arrived and both ordered curry which turned out to be a Thai-style creamy curry which was served inside a poppadom (which had been formed into a bowl shape) - looked great on the plate but you couldn't eat the poppadom as it turned into a soggy lump once the curry sauce had softened it. And it was served with mango chutney which seems rather strange with a Thai creamy curry?

Would we come back - only for the dinner which was the redeeming factor. Shame really, it was our favourite country hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I booked this hotel for a dinner, bed and breakfast package and it was really good value. We got a free room upgrade and got a four poster bed which was really lovely. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard and the breakfast was nice. Rooms was clean and well equipped. Hotel is in a nice location on the common. Would recommend a visit to Winstons ice cream just round the corner.

Room Tip: Booked through Off Peak Travel and got a free upgrade to a four poster bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_K_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Lovely place to stay. You're made to feel very welcome and the food is excellent. Great bar and lots to do in the surrounding area. Staff friendly and helpful and we had a nice room too. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We loved the location and had a beautiful view over the valley. We had one night's dinner in our package but were so impressed with the food that we ate there both nights (£29 set menu). There were some renovations happening but workmen did their best to be unobtrusive and friendly. It was pleasant to sit out and look at the croquet lawn and they made the best of small gardens. The only things that I did not like were the piped music that played over and over again at dinner and breakfast ; the fact that we could not pick up wi-fi i our room and the fact that the lighting circuit tripped on the first night.. This was put right by Reception. It was a relaxing break in an environment where the staff were professional and competent.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam307cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing