We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Generally excellent”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room on a 2 for 1 deal. The room was absolutely gorgeous although the two sides of the bed were in different time zones! The finish was of high quality. We had dinner both nights from the bar menu & were really impressed with the food quality & the attentiveness of the staff. In addition, our request to store some food in their freezer was readily acceded to. This was our second stay here & we will go back when there's another offer; it's a little pricey for us without offers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    303
    109
    37
    20
See reviews for
99
461
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed as a weekend break, and location is brilliant. Lovely setting and building is quirky. The rooms were good although not 100% perfect. Carpets were not as clean as you want and room had stains. The restaurant was excellent and the food definitely worth making visit for. Breakfast however was for us a shambles, with little organisation and a need for several requests to be served as we were "overlooked". Overall there seemed a lack of coordination and the second evening eating in the bar was hit and miss for everyone. Better management would make this perfect.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great location for walking and exploring Glos. Rooms were good size with very comfortable beds although sound proofing could be better. Food and service were great both in the bar and restaurant. Would recommend, although many steps would not make it an ideal venue for those unsteady on their feet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My partner and I plus our 2 dogs stayed for 2 nights as a Secret Escapes deal. We received a lovely, warm welcome and arrived at our cosy room in the Country House annex, which had everything we needed - including a bowl of water for the dogs and a feeding mat.

Having settled in, we had a tasty lunch by the croquet lawn - a lovely setting - before exploring the very picturesque Rodborough Common. Thank you to the Receptionist who took time to show us different walking routes we could take on the hotel's large map (it would be great if the maps could be made available to take with us on walks though).

Part of our deal was wine tasting, which we really enjoyed at Binn Ends, located next door to the hotel - it was very informal and fun. It was a bonus to be able to spend the £10 voucher we were given as part of the deal - lovely wines at affordable prices. Simon, the owner of Binn Ends, was fantastic and even gave us tips on where to walk and go for lunch.

The evening meal we had at the hotel was gorgeous. Nothing at this hotel is too much trouble. The staff even set up a special table for us in the courtyard area, so that our dogs could 'dine' with us. The service was of a high standard too.

The same can be said for breakfast, where again, a special table was set up for us in a quiet reading room and again, the service was excellent, friendly and efficient. Our dogs were well looked after too!

On the second night, we had a bar meal and were very impressed indeed by the beautiful curry we had - one of the best we've ever tasted in a hotel.

All in all, we would definitely come back and recommend The Bear as a great place to relax, enjoy good food/wine and take advantage of the wonderful setting and dog friendliness.

Room Tip: We did not see any other rooms and this was our first visit, but would be interested to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on a Cotswold break & had a lovely time. The hotel is cosy and welcoming - especially the friendly receptionist. Would recommend that you ask for a room in the main building, the ones in the annex are not as nice.
The three course dinner was very good, beautifully presented, and we also had a cream tea and a bar meal during our stay, all of a good standard.
Plenty to see in the surrounding area, nice walks over the common. we also enjoyed watching the croquet games, although didn't have a clue on the rules!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmu262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have visited the 'Bear' before. Its in a fabulous location. If you like your walks, a few nice pubs to walk to, and want to witness a world where cows roam the roads, nearby villages and fields (including a golf course!), then this place is a must. Its a different world at Rodborough Common and the 'Bear' is well placed for one to take advantage of the SUPERB scenery that's all around you. Food was better on this visit, our evening meal was excellent. I still have a gripe about the beers tho. That being said, living in Burton on Trent (home of GREAT beers) probably spoils me. MANY THANKS to the Bear for the room upgrade we had to celebrate our 34th anniversary. We do prefer the rooms in the main house. We have found all the staff friendly and its nice to see the same faces again, suggests that staff like working there too. Ensure you build in visits to Tetbury and Cirencester on your stay, both very nice towns. All in all a lovely hotel, as I have said before, if it wasn't, we wouldn't keep going back.

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the main building, the few we have been in, have had 'character' about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our stay was an unplanned gift but we are very glad we got the opportunity to stay here. The hotel is situated on Rodborough Common and is surrounded by great walks and scenery.

Our room was extremely quiet but being next to the car park and on the main footpath to reception, and not having any nets, we spent most of the time with the curtains drawn as everyone could see straight into our room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room well appointed with lots of lighting, tea and coffee facilities and a bath and shower. The building (and rooms) have been beautifully and sympathetically decorated in keeping with the arts & craft age of the main building and are well maintained. There is also a large croquet lawn for the use of the guests.

We used both the bar and restaurant and found the food and service to the first class. There were good vegetarian options but no gluten free bread was offered. The restaurant at £28 for two courses or £32 for three wasn't cheap but it provided a more fine dining experience and we didn't feel cheated for the money. There is also a very respectable wine list. The bar is more informal but again has good options and excellent service.

The only downside of our stay was some minor housekeeping issues around attention to detail but these were quickly and politely dealt with by reception, who again provided excellent and friendly service.

We are planning to return and feel that this hotel represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to be located at the back off the building away from the main road. The car park area is quiet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing