We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Disappointing
Went to the Bear for Christmas, and was rather disappointed with the entire package. The bedroom was small, the furniture old and worn and room to room sound proofing non-existent. There were several dogs in the hotel, one of them decided to start yapping at 2.30AM Boxing Day.
The hotel had printed a schedule for the 3 day Christmas event, Christmas Day lunch was supposed to be 5 courses but we only got 4, the evening buffet was very poor, no one serving drinks. Boxing Day diner was going to be 5 courses but was reduced down to only 3. Overall the quality of the food was well below expectations; most restaurants attached to Primer Inns serve much better food. Apart from the head waiter the serving staff did not appear to know what they were supposed to be doing, when I asked if the staff were agency temps brought in for Christmas, I was surprised to be informed that they were the hotel’s permanent staff.

Absolutely would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday-Note
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    300
    105
    37
    20
See reviews for
98
457
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at the Bear initially for a friend's wedding. I had a wonderful room, lovely views, amazing bed and great service. Post wedding though I had some noisy guests above me, and an early morning hoover which wasn't entirely welcome! However after mentioning the issues in my feedback, I was offered a complimentary night to make up for the disturbances I'd had. I'm really grateful to the wonderful staff at the Bear for their consideration and generosity. Breakfast there is amazing, service in all areas wonderful, and I'd have no concerns recommending them for a wonderful weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelye_Arcite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were a party of 14 friends from Ashby who every New Year get together for a 2 night stay in a different hotel every year. This we have done for approximately 20 years now so have experienced many hotels. Everyone of us said "this has been the best hotel ". The only thing that let us down was the weather so unable to enjoy the views or walks, perhaps another time.
All the staff so friendly and helpful, a characterful place with open fires, enjoyable food with excellent service, attractive bedroom decor with views we had to imagine due to rain.
We had a FANTASTIC time, thank you to all at The Bear of Rodborough.

Room Tip: The annex for quiet rooms but dogs are allowed but whilst there no trouble with barking etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our then 8 1/2month old baby. The staff were very helpful to our needs and made our stay very enjoyable.

We were very well looked after, they couldn't do enough for us at breakfast. Breakfast was wonderful, lots to choose from for us and our baby.

The room was well equipped and was a lovely comfortable station for visiting our family members.

The hotels was lovely and warm and very clean.

The only downfall was the light in the stairwell did not work but we will most definitely be returning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed twice, for a couple of nights each time, in the autumn and found the hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful on both occasions. It is worth visitong for this reason alone.

The room was comfortable and quiet with sensible lighting and a good array of sockets for lapptops etc.

Food was good, though we prefered the evening meal in the bar to that in the restaurant.

The location for anyone wanting to be close to Stroud is just right, and there are lots of pleasant walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

this hotel is on the common ground above stroud but there isn't anything common about it. Superb hotel, lovely staff, lovely grounds. plenty of walking over commons. lots of cattle roaming about so be careful walking and driving. views around area are stunning. we stayed on all inclusive package and was very good vfm, to include full high tea for two days, breakfast and dinner. food was excellent. good al a carte menu also. dog lovers note,you can take them with you. not a cheap hotel by any means but it has real character. it has its own croquet court.half bottle of champers on arrival, tea and coffee in room.great weekend

Room Tip: take sensible footwear for walks on the common
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allansussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Bear was chosen by our son and his fiancée for their wedding ceremony and reception. The location is excellent and the hotel facilities good with plenty of public room options and outside areas (in good weather) for the guests to enjoy. On the day everything went well, mainly due to the energy of "Dave" who seemed to generally take charge. On the downside, on the weeks/days prior to "the day" e-mails went unanswered and phone calls not returned when details needed to be discussed with the lady wedding co-ordinator who seemed to have other responsibilities. Food chosen for the reception by the bride and groom was well presented and of good quality and generous portions - as were the following day's breakfasts. The hotel's evening DJ did a good job but nobody seemed to hear any of the music requests they made actually being played - a small point in the overall scheme of things. The choice of various room styles is good, all reports from guests were that they were all clean and comfortable. The only adverse comment was from a number of people who said the hessian style carpeting in the executive rooms was dreadful and coarse on bare feet, not very "executive". In summary, the hotel provided a great event but more attention to keeping in touch with the couple prior to the day is required to avoid unnecessary stress.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thetechpub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing