We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire - England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb and had a lovely experience.

Room very comfy and spacious and well done without being over the top. Stayed I. The new wing but still very nice.

Bar food is very good, portions are large, service very good too.

Restaurant food was excellent . Service good and meals of a very high standard and probably the best we have had for a long time.

We have stayed at a sister hotel, hare & hounds, before and we enjoyed them both this one just pipped it as the restaurant was really first class.

Room Tip: Rooms in the wing are really good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriswoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    299
    105
    37
    20
See reviews for
97
454
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Friendly welcoming staff throughout our stay. We booked the sublime Sunday package which was excellent value with a wonderful Sunday dinner, complimentary glass of wine and a great breakfast. The bar meals are good quality food in good sized portions but not cheap. The location is superb, great walks over Rodborough Common well worth doing to walk off the dinner and for the fantastic views.
A real find and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bear of Rodborough and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel, bar and restaurant was beautifully decorated with a lovely warm ambiance. The hotel room was also beautifully presented and immaculately clean. The breakfast was included in the price and was really enjoyable with a lot of choice. The bar meals were also delicious and reasonably priced. We were lucky enough to have lovely spring weather and it was most enjoyable to eat our lunch in the hotel's beautiful gardens. I would definitely recommend and thought it should be awarded more than its 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 1 night here, using a Groupon voucher. We were pleasantly surprised by a room upgrade on arrival and the room was lovely and homely. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food was great. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro_19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We only spent one night here but will certainly be back for more. The hotel is in a lovely situation in the hills, but it should be pointed out that the road at the front of the hotel gets extremely busy in the evening. Fortunately we weren't affected by it at all, our room was at the back with lovely views across the hills.
The bedroom furnishings were good quality and it did feel luxurious. The coffee provided in the room was especially good, a nice start to the day. The well - lit bathroom mirror was very much appreciated, as was the magnifying shaving mirror!
The beds, pillows and duvets were so comfortable - I had the best night's sleep in years!
The rest of the hotel was beautiful, a maze of room, meandering corridors, lovely places to sit and read, a couple of bar rooms full of atmosphere, and log fires here and there in the public rooms.
The food was absolutely outstanding! Best hotel breakfast I've encountered in many years! Everything of the best quality and well prepared. The staff were friendly and attentive, although it was quite busy when we were there. Loads of parking spaces.
One word of caution for the nervous: there are a couple of stuffed real bears in reception, about 6 ft tall. You might want to divert small children's attention while you walk through.
All in all, we loved it and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise, ask for a room at the back. They also have the best views. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Been once before. Just as good the second time, which doesn't always happen!. A really friendly place, off the beaten track. The restaurant is first class - excellent food, and the bar meals are worth a try too!! Beds are large and really comfortable. We will return............ Just a point though - shame on the local council - the roads are a disgrace - full of potholes.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

A group of 22 of us stayed at The Bear at Rodborough for 2 nights last weekend.
The location is right on Rodborough Common, which is managed by the National Trust. It is a beautiful old coaching Inn which has been renovated and extended.
The service was good, the food very good, location wonderful, public rooms a bit cramped by comfortable. We can fully understand why this is a very popular venue for locals and tourists alike.
Our room was clean and well appointed as was the bathroom.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing