We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We used 'The Bear' as a base while exploring the area and it was perfect. We upgraded to a Superior Double room and were in room 3 so I assume one of the oldest bits of the hotel.

The room was a decent size for such an old building and the en-suite was fine if a little tired.

We had a few drinks and then decided to eat in the bar on the first night and had some great food and fun in the bar which was busy with a mixture of couples like ourselves and what looked like people staying on a conference.

Breakfast in the morning was particularly good with a wide choice of cooked options and cereals etc.

Unfortunately the weather was not great but the hotel has lots of outside tables and chairs and is really quite. We walked from the hotel up onto the common and into Nailsworth which only took about 30mins on the second night where there are lots of other restaurants, although its a steep walk home again.

Perfect for driving to bath, Cheltenham, Cirencester etc.

Room Tip: Its an old building with lots of narrow corridors & stairs so if you are not very mobile ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolsty07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    300
    105
    37
    20
See reviews for
98
457
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Set right in the centre of Rodborough Common, the Bear is a traditional inn which has an updated bar area which serves great food. The cold platters are excellent value and make a good meal to share. Portions are generous and the chips are the best! Big garden which has plenty of room for kids and dogs to run around in summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Let down by a noisy room, probably due to it being an old building plus we were facing the busy road and must have been above the bar and below someone moving the furniture in their room at 12.30 am. Restaurant meal overpriced with supplements plus extra payment for vegetables.

Room Tip: If staying request a room away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey57R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire - England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb and had a lovely experience.

Room very comfy and spacious and well done without being over the top. Stayed I. The new wing but still very nice.

Bar food is very good, portions are large, service very good too.

Restaurant food was excellent . Service good and meals of a very high standard and probably the best we have had for a long time.

We have stayed at a sister hotel, hare & hounds, before and we enjoyed them both this one just pipped it as the restaurant was really first class.

Room Tip: Rooms in the wing are really good too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriswoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Friendly welcoming staff throughout our stay. We booked the sublime Sunday package which was excellent value with a wonderful Sunday dinner, complimentary glass of wine and a great breakfast. The bar meals are good quality food in good sized portions but not cheap. The location is superb, great walks over Rodborough Common well worth doing to walk off the dinner and for the fantastic views.
A real find and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bear of Rodborough and thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel, bar and restaurant was beautifully decorated with a lovely warm ambiance. The hotel room was also beautifully presented and immaculately clean. The breakfast was included in the price and was really enjoyable with a lot of choice. The bar meals were also delicious and reasonably priced. We were lucky enough to have lovely spring weather and it was most enjoyable to eat our lunch in the hotel's beautiful gardens. I would definitely recommend and thought it should be awarded more than its 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 1 night here, using a Groupon voucher. We were pleasantly surprised by a room upgrade on arrival and the room was lovely and homely. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food was great. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro_19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
15.9 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing