We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Asker, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Very cosy hotel in beautiful surroundings.
Had dinner in the restaurant , which was very good. Tasty, well prepared and nicely served.
Breakfast also very good.
Rooms quite small, but cosy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    311
    109
    40
    21
See reviews for
101
476
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for one Sunday night in July, it was a promotional offer which included afternoon tea and a three course evening meal. The reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and polite, and all areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained. We were fortunate to experience beautiful weather and it was delightful to sit on the terrace, enjoying a tasty afternoon tea, watching a game of croquet. The evening meal in the 'Library' restaurant was lacking a little in atmosphere due to the fact that there were only three couples in there. Although a lovely setting, the menu was a little too extreme, rather too much game for our taste and we both struggled to select from the menu. Breakfast was extremely well done, lovely fresh produce, efficient service and very tasty food. Rodborough Common is a lovely area to explore and we would definitely stay here again, however I would choose to eat in the bar where the menu and food looked great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, known it for years having lived locally. Attended a wedding reception for a three course meal. Starters were lovely but the main meals were not up to standard. My partner had the roast beef, however it definitely didn't look like beef and it didn't taste like it either. I had the chicken which was rolled and moulded into cylinder shapes. Also not that special, chicken was chewy and the potato accompanying it was lumpy. I know it isn't easy doing mass catering but roast chicken and roast beef should be easy enough to cook. One of the guests on our table left her meal and ordered some chips. Actually the kids sausage and chips looked more appetising! I am sure the everyday meals are much better quality than this but when the cost is £50 per head you should expect better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyanne249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just arrived back after a 2 night stay. The hotel and surroundings are lovely.
Our room was in the annex ,1st floor overlooking the common with the roaming cows. (Room 51)
The service was fantastic, the food in the restaurant and bar was excellent too. If the weather is good you can sit outside, have a drink and watch people play croquet, or join in of course.
A must is a walk to the ice cream factory where they sell delicious ice cream. Ask at reception, its not too far to walk,
I cannot believe some of the reviews for this hotel. Dont take any notice of the negative comments. The rooms are clean, the food delicious and the staff helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are bigger .room 51 overlooks the common with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Went for a midweek lunch and had the Rump steak & chips, and my partner has the Ceasar Salad with a side of chunky chips.

Perhaps the best chunky chips I've ever eaten - very crisp and golden and mash potato like inside. Amazing.

Steak was average but reasonably priced, Caesar Salad was great.

However, what always lets The Bear down for me is the staff. Usually they are lovely and friendly, but they seem under trained. This time, just getting a Pint and a glass of wine turned into a long ordeal where eventually the bar manager had to step in and help out!

And over the past year or so we've been up there for drinks and snacks, and I'd say 8 out of 10 times getting a drink has been a struggle due to staff not knowing how to make a G&T or Pimms, and pouring beer with a massive head, or not knowing who is next to be served at a busy bar.

I hope the owners can deal with this since the food and drink is great, but the bar staff really need to be looked at.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shireboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Room 9 - cold and smelly though clean. Bed sheet clean but stained. Constant annoying whirring. Food is very average at breakfast and at the bar. Doubt anything is home made and prices are above average. Bar is expensive. Reception staff seem to find dealing with guests annoying. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Bear is undoubtedly a great venue for weddings however we visited for an evening meal on a Saturday, the experience was very different. The food was very average and the service was terrible. The Staff were very inexperienced with very little sense of urgency so when the guests from the wedding left the wedding party to buy drinks from the public bar everyone was left waiting for ages to be served. So much so that my husbands food was delivered to our table and by the time he had returned from the bar his food was cold. There was one waiter/maitre de who was very good but he appeared to be getting every bit as frustrated with the slow, inexperienced staff. I have no doubt at all that had we been attending the wedding we would be rating this much higher but as a causal customer our experience was not good. Would be more likely to go to the Black Horse in future.

Room Tip: didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.7 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear of Rodborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear of Rodborough Hotel

Property: The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Address: Rodborough Common, Stroud GL5 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear of Rodborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 300 acres of National Trust land with views over the Cotswolds; The Bear of Rodborough has 46 classic country bedrooms, a lively bar, restaurant and plenty of places to sit back and relax. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally situated for visiting the beautiful towns of Gloucestershire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bear of Rodborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Of Rodborough Stroud
Hotel Bear Of Rodborough
The Bear Of Rodborough Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing