We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stroud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #10 of 33 Stroud B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“weekend away”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very nice and peaceful location a few miles from Stroud, excellent hosts (Libby & Peter) and well presented accommodation. A break for a long weekend with mum in law in adjoining room, really good value for the money. The nearby pubs were handy for evening meals (The Kings Head & Old Neighbourhood Inn) and reasonably priced. Being picky, pre ordering breakfast was not our thing but understandable. All in all a very nice place to stay and tour the local villages and towns of the Cotswolds which are lovely.

Room Tip: front room is en-suite rear room has large bathroom and shower across the landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Por su ubicación en el centro de los preciosos Costwolds, por el trato de la amable Libby, por el fantástico desayuno casero preparado con cariño, por la bonita amplia y limpísima habitación, por los preciosos caminos y prados que lo rodean, por todas estas razones recomiendo el The Coach House a tod@ el que quiera acercarse a esta increible región de la campiña británica.

It is the location in the center of the beautiful Cotswolds, the friendly treatment of Libby, the fantastic homemade breakfast cooked with love,the clean large pretty and confortable room, the beautiful paths and meadows that surround it, for all these reasons I recommend the Coach House to everyone who wants to come to this amazing region of the British countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelNunezFdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First time staying in a bnb what a great experience will not hesitate to book again, we have stayed in the savoy in London and I must say the bed here was if not more comfortable and Libby was a lovely host.There was everything you needed in your room and very spotlessly clean.Breakfast lovely everything you need to start you off for the day,
Would recommend to anyone first class bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gristfamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed five nights whilst visiting a relative nearby. This B & B represents astonishing value for money at a top rated level. A room at a Travel Lodge costs this sort of money. Now add, a warm welcome from the hostess and a warm room (we were there during the recent very cold spell), an en suite with lashings of top quality shampoo, gel and moisturiser, a wide choice of breakfast cooked to perfection, help with the luggage,comfortable beds and chairs.
I don't mention cleanliness because I think one should expect a good standard in this respect but the Coach House was in immaculate decorative order.
I could go on and on but it is only necessary to say that it would be hard to find another B & B offering this level of comfort and value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

From arriving to leaving Libby could not have been a better host. We were taken to our room and brought a pot of tea, Libby showed us around and explained everything we needed to know . We could choose our breakfast time and when we went down we wanted for nothing.Phil and i had a lovely stay at The Coach House just a shame it was not for longer . We would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilManc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We arrived a little early just as Libby and Peter were going out. However, they invited us inside, made us a cup of tea and then apologised that they would have to go out briefly!! That's what we call a very warm welcome! Our room was scrupulously clean as was the en-suite. We had spent 12 nights in various B&B's and decided after our first night here that it had the best bed,the best pillows, the best shower and the best water pressure!! The room is quite large with enough room for 2 comfy armchairs and also a bar fridge, which houses fresh milk for your tea/coffee. Breakfast is delicious and hot. There is a toaster so you can make your own toast and therefore have it hot. Libby is a wonderful hostess who makes you feel welcome and special. We used the Coach House as a base for 3 nights so that we could explore the Cotswolds and Bath. The local pub was a 5 min walk away with good food and service.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which had an en-suite, however the other room had a massive modern bathroom 10 feet aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A warm and welcoming B&B in a quiet area. A very comfortable room with TV etc and also a fridge for fresh milk which was also useful for chilled water. I really liked the inclusion of hot chocolate next to the usual tea and coffee - not everywhere manages that. The breakfast was delicious and promptly served around a communal guest table, but with only one other guest room that's not a problem and we had a good chat with a fellow guest. The owner, Libby, was friendly and helpful and booked us a table in a local pub for our evening meal. The room and ensuite were not large but were very clean and comfortable and overlooked a quiet road frequented by joggers and horses more than cars. There was just enough off road parking and lovely views across the valley. I'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phoenix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stroud hotels
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
659 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Close - Bed & Breakfast
The Close - Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Minchinhampton
83 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#6 of 33 in Stroud
257 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Amberley Inn
The Amberley Inn
#1 of 2 in Amberley
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: Highfield Way, France Lynch, Stroud GL6 8LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Coach House Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing