We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, could not be faulted!”
Review of Clothiers Arms

Clothiers Arms
Ranked #25 of 139 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub at the Stroud end of Bath Road (Stroud-Nailsworth)
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, could not be faulted!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Four of us dined here on a Saturday evening and we were all tremendously impressed with the food, atmosphere and service. The mushroom risotto was the best I have ever had and the desserts are delicious and fresh. The portion sizes are very generous but that being said the quality of the food is not at all compromised. It has to be one of the only places I have eaten at where I could tell that they really invest in quality ingredients and are not just out to make a profit on cheap food. Overall the experience was top notch, could not be faulted at all. (I would also say that booking is advisable at weekends as it can get very busy).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First rate food with service to match”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After trying pretty much every other pub/restaurant around the area,for my birthday my family opted for the Clothier Arms. Having driven by numerous times I've not really had the thought of trying before, it just seemed a pub that was maybe a locals & so wouldn't be that special, how wrong I was.
The place it's self is part pub with an extension restaurant at the back, though you can eat either side.
Although not amazingly inspiring the restaurant itself is very comfortable and clean. However what made the evening was the first class service and surprisingly good food. There is a substantial menu with the usual pub classics, though maybe short on vegetarian options, but the wife still found something she was very pleased with.
I had the beef n ale pie which had a beautiful rich filling, ones of those dishes where you go 'wow, wasn't expecting that'.
All the food was promptly delivered, hot and good portions too.
Chips, which are a good yard stick of any place, also seemed to be home made, seasoned & the best my daughter's tasted, and that's saying something!
Had just enough room to try a desert & again, very tasty & well presented.
There is obvious thought and effort gone into the food and also with the service, where you were made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. One of the few places I actually wanted to leave tip, if only all places could make the effort like this place.
Will definitely be back & have already recommended to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zacomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tip top 1ST Class pub . The number place to eat in Stroud.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I am never ever disappointed here. All the staff are wonderful. The food is always excellent . Whether you have the two for £12 meal deal or order from the bar menu. Sunday lunch I believe is one of the best in the county for a pub/ restaurant meal. There is always plenty of food. Booking is advisable on a Sunday :) all my family eat here and we keep coming back . If your in Stroud pop in . A great choice of ales too .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great country Pub”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Recommended by 134 Hotel in Stroud, we enjoyed the short walk to this very friendly country pub. Excellent selection of food at good prices. Nice atmosphere and great ales. Would highly recommend if your in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good food, reasonable price, dogs welcome.....
We ate here two nights running and left feeling like regulars!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clothiers Arms also viewed

 

Been to Clothiers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing