We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Perfect hideaway for a couple of days”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half-pint Cottage

Cosy bedroom under the eaves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy bedroom under the eaves
Christmas at "Half-pint" Fully equiped kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
22 reviews
Cosy bedroom under the eaves
Christmas at "Half-pint"
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area
Welcome!
Looking up the garden
Bedroom corner
Cottage garden  and patio area
Private cottage garden and  woodstore
Extensive  views from the dormer window
Unlimited logs for the wood burning stove
Pure cotton bedlinen and soft towles
A corner of the lounge
Garden and summer house at twilight
The original windowseat in the lounge
The Post Office and stores at nearby Woodcheter
Selsley Church, with views over the Severn estuary and Wales
Selsley  view
Colourful Stroud with its Saturday farmers' market
Great walking country: on the Cotswold Way
The Bell at Selsley, warm welcome and great food.
Our very local 'local'
Bedroom corner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stroud, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loulabell...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect hideaway for a couple of days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We've just arrived home after 2 nights at half pint cottage. It's a lovely little cottage in an attractive setting, the only downsides for us was the lack of parking - you have to walk down a steep road from the Bell pub - and the fact that the Bell itself was closed for refurbishment! Looks like the builders are doing a great job though so will be a fab evening destination for future guests of half pint cottage. The cottage itself is cosy and very well equipped but with two flights of steep, spiral stairs this isn't somewhere for anyone who's not too good on their pins. We visited All Saints Church in Selsley which has windows by William Morris - really beautiful and well worth a visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: very comfortable and well appointed living room on first floor
Liked least: lack of parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
So glad you enjoyed your weekend, and yes the pub is going to be even better than before.I can't wait until it's finished.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in November 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the cozy kitchen with the log burner,
Liked least: the garden, and white furniture (becasue of the dogs)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Hi,
I'm glad you enjoyed our cosy cottage.Well behaved dogs are definitely welcome, even hairy ones. However, our cleaner does a stirling job to make sure the cottage is left in a perfect condition for our next guests, so although we don't charge for dogs, we reserve the right to pay her for extra cleaning when necessary.Fortunately this rarely happens.
I think you would love our now fully landscaped garden, although we still expect guests to supervise their dogs, so as not to spoil the flowers and shrubs for others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PMcMChesh...
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Very well modernised and equipped cottage on three floors, only one problem it's two flights of very narrow steep stairs down to the loo from the bedroom, which if you are used to an en-suite becomes a bit of a chore after a while. Lounge is particularly lovely, being bright and airy with lovely far reaching views. The weather was excellent during our stay and we made full use of the garden every evening. We were disappointed that the local pub was closed although the signs say it will be open later in the year. This charming cottage would be ideal for a young couple.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The sunny garden
Liked least: No parking within reasonable distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed the garden during your stay. A perfect summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinsid
london
Level Contributor
245 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“What a lovely little cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend in this cosy little cottage and would certainly recommend it. The owners have restored it beautifully and it immediately makes you feel at home. It is on three floors which are linked by very tight stairs so you need to be fit but you are rewarded by beautiful views from the lovely light lounge (first floor) and the very comfortable bedroom (second floor) The shower room is tucked away on the ground floor with the kitchen and the eating area There is a nice little garden to sit out in to the front The cottage is well-appointed and has a woodburner on the ground floor which must be a bonus in the winter as the ground floor is a bit dark and chilly There are some lovely walks in the area and we look forward to staying again Thank you!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quaint homely cottage with lovely views
Liked least: Tight stairs, darkish kitchen, tight access to bathroom sink
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
I,m glad you enjoyed your weekend and made the most of exploring this beautiful part of the Cotswolds.We shall certainly be trying the canal walk you recommended in our guest book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidmaria...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“cozy and comfortable stay in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I enjoyed staying at Half-Pint Cottage, especially with the beautiful views in every direction! The home was well-equipped, and so tidy and clean. Some of the best features were the wood-burning stove with abundant firewood available, the fast and reliable internet access, and the wonderful enclosed shower with plenty of hot water. The lounge is bright and cozy, and the views from this room and the bedroom at the top are simply delightful. I would recommend it as the perfect size for a solo traveler or a couple.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: lovely views, enclosed shower, wood-burning stove
Liked least: no pub or restaurant nearby
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you like our little cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeccalo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at Half-pint cottage over new year for 5 nights. It has been refurbished to a very high standard and is simply stunning. The location is great for exploring the Cotswolds and there are many lovely local pubs in the area. Perfect for a relaxing break away from the world!

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your New Year's break Rebecca. All the best for 2013.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Nice fire
Liked least: Internet not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you appreciated our "local" too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing