We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half-pint Cottage

Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area Looking up the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Christmas at 'Half-pint'
Fully equiped kitchen and dining area
Looking up the garden
Cottage garden  and patio area
Private cottage garden and  woodstore
Extensive  views from the dormer window
Unlimited logs for the wood burning stove
Pure cotton bedlinen and soft towles
A corner of the lounge
Garden and summer house at twilight
The Post Office and stores at nearby Woodcheter
Selsley Church, with views over the Severn estuary and Wales
Selsley  view
Colourful Stroud with its Saturday farmers' market
Great walking country: on the Cotswold Way
The Bell at Selsley, warm welcome and great food.
Our very local 'local'
Dining corner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clio47
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place in a great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a lovely, comfortable, up-to-date cottage. Everything was in perfect condition with complete instructions for all appliances (which is a great help for Americans trying to use British appliances). There is a hugh Sainsburys down the hill — perfect for shopping — and a great pub — The Bell — up the hill. Yes, there are stairs and parking is up the hill, but neither created any problem. We loved walking the canal and visiting the Selsley Church. The nearby towns are great. Essentially it is perfectctly situated for visiting almost the entire Cotswold area — from Chipping Camden and Cirencester to Gloucester and Dursley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable sleeping
Liked least: bathroom sink was a little small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage that doesn't diappoint”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very well appointed cottage, pleasingly presented and quick to get warm and cosy.
The bedroom has a very comfy bed and nice cotton linen was provided.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jnifferpo...
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a couple”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I wanted to find somewhere in the Cotswolds for my husbands birthday weekend and as we don't have a car location near a station was essential and this was perfect. The cottage has everything you would need and has been decorated to a high standard, with all the mod cons but retaining beautiful period features and the log fire was great. The living room and bedroom have lovely furnishings and the bed is super comfy with beautiful views out of the window. We only stayed two nights but packed a lot in, a visit to the bell inn is a must-the food was brilliant and they recommended a walk around the common down to penn wood which has the most amazing views. Can't recommend highly enough. We plan to go back in the summer. A great place for a couple to stay, we didn't mind the stairs as other people have commented they are a bit narrow but I think this adds to its character which I liked.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
I am so pleased that the cottage was right for your birthday weekend, and hope to welcome you again to "Half-pint".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieLiz...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Half Pint Cottage in December 2014 to celebrate our honeymoon. The cottage is just perfect, it is exactly as described but the owners go above and beyond to make your stay as homely and as welcoming as possible.
Fresh milk in the fridge upon arrival, seasonal flowers and a bottle of bubbly was so appreciated.
The cottage is so thoughtfully laid out and decorated. We loved sitting by the fire in the evenings and the kitchen is so well equipped for cooking and eating in.
As it was winter we didn't use the outside space but it looks great for the summer months.
We had no trouble parking our car and you can stop briefly outside the cottage for loading/unloading. The village is great with a very friendly pub on your doorstep and so many country walks.
All in all a wonderful cottage and we cannot wait to return one day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
I am delighted that you found our little cottage just right for your honeymoon, and wish you both well for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilCat250...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well-equipped cottage in good location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June, with our pooch. The cottage is well-equipped and packs a lot into a small space. Although the kitchen is small it has everything you need and is full of appliances. We really appreciated the milk and chocolates on arrival, but it was also so useful to have things like salt and vinegar etc.

The living room and bedroom are bright and spacious. The garden is enclosed, but you do have to cross a shared path to get it it. This was a bit of a problem with our dog, as we had to put her on a lead each time because she found the neighbours' gardens irresistible - cats! Once in though she was fully secure. We ate at the Bell, and the food was great. We never had a problem getting a parking space, but if you're not very confident at reverse parking you could find it a bit of a challenge.

The stairs are quite steep and spiral inside the cottage, so you have to be a bit careful.

There are some lovely walks along the Severn Way, Cotswold Way and Stroud Canal, and it's great to have a Sainsbury's withing walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hillside parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. It's good to know you liked our little cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason e
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“christmas 2013: Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just spent a week over christmas, beautiful cottage and really festive,.when we arrived there was a bottle of wine & xmas cake left for us also a xmas tree and crackers, really thoughtful. Unloading the car was a nightmare as we had to park near the pub up the road as the road outside is very narrow & busy. We really loved the area, particularly selsey common with its amazing views, plus the dog loved it! Stroud really nice town and the "bell inn" was a cosy little pub with nice food. Inside the cottage it seemed that previous guests had left things behind cluttering up cupboards and the freezer and fridge etc, also a lot of ornaments about gathering dust and cobwebs, other than this Half pint cottage is a lovely place to stay and we'd definately recommend a stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, dog walking options, cosiness.
Liked least: steep stairs with no carpet, parking not always easy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay. Our guests usually appreciate the few condiments etc. that we leave in the food cupboard, as well as the basic essentials left for their convenience. I'm a bit puzzled about ornaments gathering dust, as previous guests have always thanked us for our clean,tidy and cosy cottage.
Our pub has recently re-opened after extensive renovations, so I am delighted that you appreciated it. Unfortunately it has meant that parking was more difficult over the holiday period, though it is possible to stop alongside the cottages for unloading.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
I'm delighted you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to welcoming you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing