We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”
Review of The Stirrup Cup

The Stirrup Cup
Ranked #20 of 146 Restaurants in Stroud
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Stirrup Cup pub is the perfect setting to relax at the end of a busy day or the start of an evening with a wonderful selection of Cask Ales, Guinness, Crisp Lagers, Fine Wines,, freshly brewed coffees, tasty bar bites. We serve real food and great and simple dishes all year round. Our menu is tailored to what is seasonally available and abundant with traceability at its heart. Our main focus is to use fresh and where possible local ingredients which are cooked well and served in a warm and friendly atmosphere created with the help of our two open fires.The Stirrup Cup has a lovely secret garden at the back of the pub for enjoying the summer evenings, it really is the perfect place to sit and watch the world go by over a glass of wine or a beer or two.We are proud to be located in the very pretty village of Bisley set in the Cotswold countryside, come along and see us at The Stirrup Cup Bisley today.
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This was the second visit to The Stippup Cup in Bisley this month (Dec) and on both occasions the food was superb, service first class and the atmosphere as good as it gets. The landlord, Phillip, went out of his way to ensure everything went well. He's a charming Irishman and runs a good pub. I would reccomend The Stirrup Cup to all, as a bonus it's dog friendly. The menu is not extensive like other pubs and the prices are just about right. Good beer as well, try a pint of Shepherds or Tommy Taylors.

10 out of 10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StonecroftStroudUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Stonecroft

Happy new year, apologies for not responding sooner we have been a tad busy, high class problem as they say!!

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation most appreciated, look forward to welcoming you again

The very best to you and your family for 2014

Keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I visited this pub for lunch after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor as we have just moved to the area. What a great place, we were greeted at the bar by the Landlord who is friendly, funny and helpful, typical Irish, nothing was too much trouble. The food is really good, I had the burger which was the best I've had, home made and tasty, my wife had the soup which again was home made and tasty. We have booked for Sunday Lunch and I'm sure we will visit many times.

Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hi Peter

Thank you and your wife for dropping in, delighted to see you enjoyed, our aim is to please

Welcome to the area and we look forward to looking after you and your family tomorrow and many more days to come

Enjoy the evening, see you tomorrow, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This village pub provided a very warm welcome and excellent home cooked food! Reasonable prices and excellent service. This place will be visited time and time again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hi Jonathan

Thank you, David and Steve for dropping in, we appreciated it and delighted to see you enjoyed

We look forward to welcoming you both when you move to the village

Keep smiling, thank you again

Philip, Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Typical pub serving food, looks good from outside as obviously just been redecorated but service poor and food average.

1  Thank 1,234,566,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Visitor

Thank you for your comments, you are correct the pub has been redecorated both inside and outside

We are sorry to hear you found your visit fell short of your expectations, I am not sure what day / evening you were in, but having checked with my colleagues, they said no one brought to their attention the food or the service. I wish you would have therefore, we would have been in a position to rectify the situation at the time in question, if I am unaware something is broken I am unable to fix it, which I am always happy to do.

Please accept our apologies, please return and make yourself know and I am happy to stand you a meal and a drink as a way of recompense on your next visit

Best Regards, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just had our first Sunday lunch in our local pub, what can we say but " why in earth did we wait so long" the service was good as it always is and the food was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nashend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you both for your kind words, thank you for coming in, delighted you enjoyed

Look forward to seeing you again

Keep smiling

Philip Alison and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stirrup Cup also viewed

Bisley, Gloucestershire
 
Eastcombe, Stroud
 
Stonehouse, Stroud
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Stirrup Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing