We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic will keep coming back!!”
Review of The Stirrup Cup

The Stirrup Cup
Ranked #33 of 140 Restaurants in Stroud
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stirrup Cup pub is the perfect setting to relax at the end of a busy day or the start of an evening with a wonderful selection of Cask Ales, Guinness, Crisp Lagers, Fine Wines,, freshly brewed coffees, tasty bar bites. We serve real food and great and simple dishes all year round. Our menu is tailored to what is seasonally available and abundant with traceability at its heart. Our main focus is to use fresh and where possible local ingredients which are cooked well and served in a warm and friendly atmosphere created with the help of our two open fires.The Stirrup Cup has a lovely secret garden at the back of the pub for enjoying the summer evenings, it really is the perfect place to sit and watch the world go by over a glass of wine or a beer or two.We are proud to be located in the very pretty village of Bisley set in the Cotswold countryside, come along and see us at The Stirrup Cup Bisley today.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic will keep coming back!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The best food and service I have ever experienced! Lovely food and the Land Lord makes you feel so special. We are not locals and travel to get this lovely experience. Will keep returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 171buttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear 171Buttercup

Thank you for your very kind review, most appreciated

Delighted you enjoyed your experience in the Stirrup Cup and we look forward to you enjoying it again and again on your return

Keep smiling

Philip, Alison and theteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    28
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great honest food at great honest prices.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great, attentive service from the moment I sent the email to the moment we left. Also a varied pub menu and it tasted great! Too many times restaurants around here have too fancy food with ridiculous prices. We came away feeling really pleased with our meal and very happy with the price we paid. Nice touch with the candle for the birthday boy too ;) We will be back and will be telling our friends to come too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear SJ Stroud

Thank you for your kind comments most appreciated

Delighted you all enjoyed your visit to the Stirrup Cup and pleasure to add a candle if it makes the experience all the more enjoyable

Look forward to welcoming you back, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband booked a table at the Stirrup Cup for my birthday last month. From the minute we stepped inside we were made to feel very welcome ans nothing was too much trouble. The food was fabulous,especially the fillet steak with garlic butter. The last time I had steak that good was in Ireland. We will definitely be returning to the Stirrup Cup!
Thank you Philip and Alison for a wonderful birthday evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lill2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Nikki and Sean

It was delight to have you both and we were delighted you enjoyed your birthday so much

We look forward to welcoming you both back

Keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bootcampers' delight”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went here with 36 lovely ladies. I had cottage pie. It was delicious and served very hot.. This was our Christmas Party and we were catered for very efficiently.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Yew-Tree-Stroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Jayne HTB

Thank you for your kind review and yes what an enjoyable night we all had, 36 ladies in one room was a site to behold!!

Delighted everything was to your satisfaction, Vicky is thinking of having a summer fest as a dry run(did I say dry run, wrong choice of words!!) as a precursor to Christmas!

thank you again, keep on running

Philip, Alison and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
302 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch - again”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A return visit to the Stirrup Cup and once again a great meal served by charming staff. Bangers and Mash again a firm favourite and the desserts are lush. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, General Manager at The Stirrup Cup, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear JayneHTB

Thank you, it is not often I get a chance to say welcome back on TA so most appreciated you made the effort to return

thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome coupled with good food, again and again and again

take care, keep smiling

Philip, Alison and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stirrup Cup also viewed

Bisley, Gloucestershire
Stroud, Cotswolds
 
Eastcombe, Stroud
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Stirrup Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing