We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Meal”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We (Stroud Hockey Club 2ndX1) attended on Saturday evening of 8th December. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff made us feel important and couldn't do enough for us, the meal was superb and everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and presentation of the restaurant. For the 15 of us that attended the cost was superb. This restaurant is a breath of fresh air for Stroud and highly recommended. Thankyou all Craig Breddy (on behalf of Stroud 2nd X1)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigBreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    43
    24
    25
See reviews for
36
62
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is very good value for money. For budget hotel prices you will get a hotel that is way above budget hotel standards. You will get a homely room with a lovely bathroom and a nice breakfast thrown in, and a good night's sleep. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean and tidy, Dinner is a little bit more expensive in the Thai restaurant which is within the hotel building, but there are plenty of other places nearby, and I would nevertheless recommend treating yourself after saving on the room prices - the menu is wonderful and the food is delicious. The staff here are so warm and friendly that they will make you feel immediately very welcome in Stroud.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lozxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Stroud. On arrival we were greeted by very polite staff and shown to our room. Pleasantly surprised after reading some of these reviews. Large room and spacious en-suite, both of which were very clean.
On the friday we dined in the in house Thai restaurant which was superb. Both food and staff. Breakfast was good with a selection of fruit and yoghurt along with a full english..the tea and coffee would be better not pre made though.
It would of been nice to have an all day light snack menu available as there was no food available and we had to nip out but good choice of local eateries!
This hotel is very central and therefore if you are looking for a quiet country location then you will need to stay elsewhere. Would we stay again.. Yes most definitley.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We booked into the Imperial as we had a wedding nearby so just wanted a place to stay on Saturday night. We checked in on Saturday afternoon to quickly change before heading for the wedding. We were greeted by a nice lady, asked to pay up front and directed to our room.

As soon as we entered, we noticed the buzz of the extractor fan. Really really loud and no way of turning it off. We went back down to reception and thankfully, were given another room. The lady said "I thought that had been fixed". Maybe someone should have checked. The second room was quieter but not great. The toilet role holder was hanging off the wall, the toilet would only flush after repeated atempts, the furniture was the most basic cheap pine and there was still a noise coming from an aircon outside the room. The view was also shocking; it is a city centre hotel so I don't expect much but they could at least clear away the pile of rubbish.

When we returned from the wedding, we were struck with just how hot the room was. No heating was on so it was a bit of a mystery. We would have opened the window but the noise from the nightclub/pub was loud enough anyway.

Breakfast was also not great. The usual selection of things but the ready made tea was like dishwater and being asked "what breakfast would you like" without any menu or any options was very odd.

All this would have been annoying for a £70 or even £60 room but for £130, it was terrible. Maybe for the price, I should have asked for champagne and smoked salmon for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can get a room for £50, it might be worth it for a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stroud hotels

Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way to Cornwall from Scotland. After we checked in we went to our room which was quite noisy as it was on the outside wall next to the Weatherspoons next door. One of the staff came to our room and offered a room change as there was a twin available. We were reasonably happy with what we had as it was very late and the pub would be due to close but we changed anyway. The rooms were very clean and en-suite had obviously just been re-furbished. My only real complaint was the beds. The were very soft and springy mattresses which resulted in me wakening through the night. The room door lock also didn't seem very secure. The real highlight was the food. The breakfast was excellent with a full cooked breakfast with the choice also of cereal, yoghurt fruit etc, with toast and tea or coffee. The downstairs areas were very nicely decorated also. Would i stay again...maybe.

Room Tip: I think the closer to the hotel entrance you get, the better sleep you will have if you are an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Impressive building and interior. Very well furnished and friendly staff. Our room was large and airy, good sized bathroom as well. Pity the firedoor outside the room wasn't damped as it slammed very loudly every time someone went through. The downside of the hotel was the station car park out the front. Late evening, people collecting cars after a night out were very noisy. Rather spoiled the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108. Next to the fire door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

as i was working in the middle of stoud position was very good i didnt really like booking in at the bar as a single woman but it was quite so not too bad. the room had been refurbed and althoiugh it was old pine furniture it was very clean bathroom very good, housekeeping had cleaned the bathroom very well although it looked as though they had forgotten to hoover the carpet breakfast was good i overlooked the station but had no problem with noise nice and warm!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
174 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing