We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deal.....!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Deal.....!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

well the room was really nice and quite it was the room 106 i believe, nice view looking over head the car park towards station,good space for the money i paid, seems like they have done a good job with the rooms,staff was friendly who offered to carry my bag and showed me the room,which is unlikely now a days.they have change their menus from Thai to English but didn't bother me much since the food was lovely and the restaurant ,bar and the service was well appreciated and finally breakfast was spotless can't ask for more,full English breakfast teas coffees juices fruits...
honestly if i visit stroud again i will stay at the THE IMPERIAL

Room Tip: rooms facing the station are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hish r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    52
    36
    21
    25
See reviews for
34
53
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The exterior of this hotel is lovely. Inside, things change somewhat. The foyer isn't bad but that's the good bit over with! My room was overly hot, There were ants in the bathroom, and there was a suspicious wet pillow case in my bathroom. Oh, and the tv didn't work. The view from my window was completely taken up by some sort of industrial ventilation shaft which hummed all night.
The morning of my departure a couple were complaining to the management that someone had climbed up the fire escape, through their window and stood by their bed! The management's response.... they'd check the cctv! No apology and they didn't even ask if the couple were OK!
This hotel needs to go back to basics starting with customer service and ensuring cleanliness. Not worth £70 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stroud hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as only place i found that had rooms available for concert at westonbirt, booked 8 months in advance.
Vey old building and looks old inside too website for hotel is nothing like it in reality. Dont be fooled by website pics for the rooms.
On arrival i was quite impressed with our room had a four poster bed, used the loo and it wouldnt flush, told reception and was instantly given a new room, so going from a four poster to twins in a matter of 20 mins not a happy bunny.
Room overlooking the car park and train station, not many trains but a little noisy with cars parking up. The hotel and rooms are like saunas so be aware of this when visiting in
summer. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The coil springs in the mattress would have made my sleep impossible last night so I wrapped myself on and in the doona. This is a hotel on the move to being renovated. It's very clean and the staff were friendly at the delicious breakfast. The price is reasonable and it's opposite Stroud railway station. The station is impossible to negotiate with bags, even though national railways has indicated it's 'step free'. If you come from London as I did, you might have to ask someone to help you across the overhead bridge to the town if you don't have a car in the car park. The fellow on staff at the station was more than pleased to assist me with my bag but I thought other travelers should know what to expect. The floor boards upstairs squeak a bit over old carpet. They have no lift but the staff were willing to carry bags up and down the stairs. This hotel must consider changing the mattresses for the comfort of guests. It's not all about renovations of the building.

Room Tip: No blinds to close out the sun in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiegirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of walking the Costwold Way. The hotel is right accross from the train station and has a cab rank outside which proved useful. The night we stayed (Saturday) there seemed to be a summers evening party going on a few doors away in an area next to the car park, which continued well into the morning. Admittedly it was one of the sunniest days of the year. If this is regular occurence and you prefer windows open, this might be a problem for some people.

The staff were friendly apart from the one who took our call to cancel one of our three rooms. We called in the morning the day before to cancel and her initial position was that it was not 24 hours notice, so we could not cancel, until we pointed out that the 24 hours run from noon.

Room was clean, reaonable size and bathoom had toiletries provided. Tea and coffee were also provided.

We did not have dinner though the menu looked reasonable with a selection of Sri Lankan and Thai dishes. Breafast consisted of buffet selection along with full Enlgish breakfast served at the table. Food was good for the price. Tea and coffee were a self serve matter but they would bring pots of tea to the table.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiemc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel has a great location in the centre of town. However, I felt we paid quite a lot for what was a fairly basic hotel room. That said, it was clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was also fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stagbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Clean rooms, underfloor heating in the large bathroom and plenty of space.
Yes, the pine furniture is not antique, but it's clean and looks fine.

I admit that the lack of breakfast menu was a bit scary, but as a group we just went for it and ordered exactly what we wanted ( 2 poached eggs on brown toast, no butter, with baked beans on the side please) and we got it. The lady on Saturday morning didn't even write down six orders that were strange, got them all right and served them with a smile.

The coffee on the first morning was in pots, but on the second did come from a large thermos. This was ok, but we did notice a difference.

Apart from that, the fact you ate in the bar was ok, it was really cold but the room was warm. The bar has "ambience" but there was always a seat when we needed one, the staff were friendly.

Only real complaint, I asked for an extra pillow which was promised and never arrived. But on the other hand friends asked for another quilt and were given one, so it could be I wasn't forceful enough, or didn't ask twice.

Make sure you tell them your car reg if you park in their car park, a friend didn't and came out to find a note gaffer taped to his front and back windows telling him he was on private property. No fee, but a hell of a lot of peeling and scraping, as the tale wouldn't come off and was right in his eye line on the windscreen.

Close to town and the station, we overlooked the train station which wasn't noisy, I imagine courtyard views to be less picturesque!

All in all, not bad..... Clean room, plentiful hot food and friendly faces.

Room Tip: Ask for station view, you can see the car park and the station, Stipulate twin or double when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 21 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing