We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and functional”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and functional”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

For a business trip this Hotel ticked all the boxes except one. No wi fi in the bedrooms. I used my phone as a hot spot but in this day and age I really would expect a Hotel of this size to have wi fi in the rooms as well as the public areas.
Apart from that minor niggle my room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Everything worked and the staff were pleasant and helpful. (Carrying bag upstairs).
Right opposite the station and easy walking access to town centre. Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of it. For the price I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    55
    42
    22
    25
See reviews for
34
59
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel gives the impression of having just had a major shake-up: new staff, new chef, refurbishment going on etc. Sadly the Thai cuisine is no longer available but that said, I could not fault the hotel - the staff were polite, attentive and efficient and the room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Cannot judge the restaurant as we ate out, but the breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay again when in the area. I heard no undue noise from outside, and the location is ideal for the station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location and accommodation were excellent to relax and explore the country side. Walking distance to the Station, many shops, cafes and restaurants. Supremely comfortable beds, spacious, quiet and stylish room with friendly helpful staff. Fast internet was very useful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lufthansa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

the service was poor and the rooms average. better stay in premier inn than here...I chose the hotel for the location, which is very central and made it very easy for us to visit the family. The staff couldn't care less about what we needed or the quality of our sleep( we are disturbed a few times a night by the noise outside)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stroud hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 2 nights - whilst the hotel is not bad, the room we stayed in was very noisy due to cars outside and the train station opposite. Both nights we were awoken by people arguing in the street outside our room (first floor) since the windows are single glazed and don't soundproof. The food in the restaurant is good along with breakfast and they have some nice beers on, and the hotel offers free wifi in the bar, restaurant and foyer. Overall, it was ok but certainly not great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank s1d972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Booked hotel at 17.30 on the day before my visit but due to illness had to cancel at 8am on day of booking. Hotel insisted on 100% cancellation on a booking that they had only had for a few hours.
I know it is in their small print but I think this is a very short sighted policy.
Will not be staying there again ( I've stayed times in the past).

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for business and wasn't in the hotel much. Nothing much to say, clean and did the job. Breakfast was a bit sparse with the cooked side although plenty of choice. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfaMaleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
659 reviews
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing