We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing journey for our taste buds.”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing journey for our taste buds.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After revisiting this place many times I have to say that I'm definitely a fan! The food has consistently been fresh and tasty. Friendly staff and warm authentic decor is an extra plus. Four of us ate here last week. Everything was fresh and tasty and the service was friendly and attentive. Presentation of each dish is done with great care and its part of what makes this place really special for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanGaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    43
    24
    25
See reviews for
36
62
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I popped in here for a drink a while ago, before meeting someone at the station. I stood at the bar for at least 10 minutes waiting to be served, people came and went but I was totally ignored by the bar staff.
Although it is a very nice building I won,t be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stroud hotels

Glos
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went Friday evening. Really good service from start to finish. They had the Thai menu and I think the food was outstanding. The restaraunt area opens out into the pub. It was a reasonably busy evening so a good atmosphere. And finally we were able to park right outside!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GlosAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A very central hotel close to the railway station, with many nice restaurants and shops in walking distance. The hotel itself also has a restaurant which serves delicious thai food. I really enjoyed the Pad thai and the green curry.
The hotel is a little old but very charming. The room and the hotel in general were clean and the staff very friendly.
I will come back :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is an old building but it is really well connected close to the railway station and the town center. Firstly the room I stayed in (double room) was clean and very quiet (I honestly do not understand the comments that it is a noisy hotel close to the station. This is absolutely not true. In my case I slept very well (the noise bit sounds like you don't make noise while sleeping). As for the service of the restaurant and cafe, I must say I was very pleasantly surprised with the British menu served in the morning (my compliments to the chef for The Sandwich Club and Goat cheese and vegetables chargrilled) and Thai menu nights (I highly recommend both the Thai green carrion and The chicken pad thai).

Room Tip: 1.Rooms on the side of the rail way station have a nice view of the hills and a nice building with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

For a business trip this Hotel ticked all the boxes except one. No wi fi in the bedrooms. I used my phone as a hot spot but in this day and age I really would expect a Hotel of this size to have wi fi in the rooms as well as the public areas.
Apart from that minor niggle my room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Everything worked and the staff were pleasant and helpful. (Carrying bag upstairs).
Right opposite the station and easy walking access to town centre. Breakfast was fresh and there was plenty of it. For the price I would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel gives the impression of having just had a major shake-up: new staff, new chef, refurbishment going on etc. Sadly the Thai cuisine is no longer available but that said, I could not fault the hotel - the staff were polite, attentive and efficient and the room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Cannot judge the restaurant as we ate out, but the breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay again when in the area. I heard no undue noise from outside, and the location is ideal for the station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
170 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing