We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Pretoria Villa

Pretoria Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stroud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pretoria Villa
Ranked #18 of 34 Stroud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was the first time we had tried staying in a B & B with our toddler (for a wedding) and due to the glowing reviews I decided to book at the Pretoria Villa. Glynis and Dennis are very thoughtful and welcoming, and we had a lovely double room with a corner for the travel cot. We all slept really well in our comfy beds. A beautiful large with a guest living room, and large gardens with 2 swings made it a perfect place for all three of us. The breakfast was one of the best we've had at a B and B with pancakes made especially for my toddler. We were extremely close to a great pub as well, and local walks right by the B and B were wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Pretoria Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

A perfect B&B in a quiet location. We had a lovely welcome with tea & cake, and found the place clean, comfortable, the room spacious, the breakfast delicious, and with beautiful views of the valley. The TV was where is should be - in the guests lounge - with a radio in the room which most B&Bs lack but I welcome. Eastcombe is a lovely village with excellent food at the Lamb Inn which is a few minutes walk away and downhill coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This lovely b and b is well located for exploring Cotswold walks, it's spotless and welcoming. Positives: friendly service, very clean, pretty garden, nice village, delicious and generous breakfast, walking distance to two nice pubs which serve good food, tea and coffee making facilities in room.. Negatives: bed was very saggy, should be replaced. Bathroom very cramped and had a terribly noisy extractor fan and water heater. On balance, though, lots of nice little touches made this a worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have previously stayed in Northern Cotswolds (i.e. Bourton on the Water) but now regard the Southern Cotswolds as more unique and less "touristy".
Glynis and Dennis provide a high quality and excellent value B&B that I would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. The property is maintained to a high standard and the breakfasts are superb. Guests have a spacious and comfortable lounge at their disposal in addition to their well appointed bedrooms and ensuites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have cause to visit relatives in the area because my wife comes from Gloucestershire. Unfortunately we live about four hours away in East Sussex and need to stay somewhere warm and comfortable when we visit. It has all been said by previous reviewers - Pretoria Villa and Glynis's breakfasts set the standard for others. We are always assured of a warm welcome and homely, unfussy attention to detail which makes for a delightful stay. This is unique B&B in a truly beautiful spot on th edge of a Cotswold village - go for it!

Room Tip: Room 2 is a twin, but could be a double if you ask Glynis!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was on a half-work half-relaxing trip with my husband in the Stroud area. We were recommended Pretoria Villa by another B & B owner in the Cotswolds and we were not disappointed. The house and village are truly lovely. Glynis makes these extraordinary breakfasts and everything is kept beautifully. Dennis is a retired builder, so all the rooms are finished to a high standard. As they are both locals born and brought up, we were directed to scenic walks down a valley and around a lake. This was just what was needed after a really stressful period at work. Indeed - when I needed to do something work-wise, Glynis was really helpful, even though she had a lot to do. We had such a lovely time - I can't think of a single bad thing to say!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in England for 5 weeks, staying a week in 5 different B & B's. This B & B was the best of all. What made it so enjoyable was Glynis Solomon, the owner. There were 4 of us and we were in need of doing washing. She generously offered us use of her washing machine. We put our wine and beer in her fridge. She tried to meet our every need. The house is lovely, bedrooms all have ensuites. Everything is spotless. Chocolates and biscuits in your room. Every couple of days she changed our bedding, not just the sheets. We had our 83 year old mother with us and she offered to drive to and from the pub so mum would not have to walk. The only downside is finding it. Once you have found it you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scuddsy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stroud hotels
3.4 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Amberley Inn
The Amberley Inn
#1 of 2 in Amberley
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Frocester George
The Frocester George
#1 of 1 in Frocester
141 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretoria Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretoria Villa

Address: Pretoria Villa Wells Road, Stroud GL6 7EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Stroud
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gl6 7ee ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pretoria Villa Stroud, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing