We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Lovely Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Fleece

The Old Fleece
Ranked #8 of 138 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The first thing that stands out about this Pub/Restaurant is the friendliness of the staff and the warm greeting we received. The food was of a high standard and we could not fault any of the three courses we had. Would definitely recommend the Pate starter probably one of the best I have had. The service was quick and food delivered piping hot.
We dined early at 7 and by the time we were leaving it was very busy. Would recommend and we will be returning

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    98
    30
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My family took me here for my birthday 1st August, it was excellent food,very well presented and tasty, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the price of drinks not too expensive.
It wasn't just because it was my birthday they were attentive to everyone so cannot understand negative comment.
I would recommend and will be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfkGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taking down the Jamie Oliver's and Gordon Ramsay's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

One warm and sunny summer's evening after a hard days baling this water hole arose on the way home. It was a welcome sight as the hole team was in need of a refuelling and rehydrating. Being local farmer it was nice to be able to taste some of our local rivals meat. Its tough to say but the quality, taste and texture of the Brownshill Beef burger was one of the best if not the best burger I have set my hands on. Other people in the group were just as impressed with the quality of the fish dishes. Finally it was great to have a pub that actually gives you enough food to fill you up (that hard to do when you have a bunch of young farmers sitting around a table). Well Done to the Old Fleece team and the Brownshill Beef supplier

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been many times to The Fleece.
The food is amazing and always changing.
We could not fault the service. Staff are excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjmorris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked a table for 15 guests for my birthday , excellent food , all brought out together without waiting (altough we did pre order ) , really friendly staff !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fleece also viewed

Stroud, Cotswolds
Birdlip, Cotswolds
 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing