We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable stay in the beautiful Cotswolds”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Perfect for couples or single travellers, all year round (your own front door and level lawn area) Your assurance of quality accommodation: Bobbys Nook has been inspected and awarded 4 Stars by TheAA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Modern, well equipped, good sized separate kitchen with country, retro feel. Looks out across field
Perfect for couples or single travellers, all year round (your own front door and level lawn area)
Your assurance of quality accommodation: Bobbys Nook has been inspected and awarded 4 Stars by TheAA
Enjoy a complementary drink from the welcome pack. Selection teas, coffee (Tassimo pods), milk, bisc
Extra table and chairs in the kitchen; handy for breakfast or a quick snack
Tiled en suite: lovely spacious walk-in shower, heated towel rail, illuminated mirror, shaver point
TV with inbuilt DVD, Radio/CD player. Books, games and maps to borrow.
'Secret Garden' behind the Nook; sun loungers and barbecue also available
Guests love this amazing, ever-changing view from the sofa, towards Forest of Dean and River Severn
Relax in the sunshine and shade in the secluded part of the garden.
Little orchard area next to Bobby's Nook with wild flowers in the Spring sunshine. Sit, relax, enjoy
Views from the field behind Bobby's Nook
View towards the River Severn and the Forest of Dean
Walk the Cotswold Way and many other footpaths straight from Bobby's Nook's front door
Well worth the short climb: the view from the common is unforgettable!
Wonderful summer sunsets over the River Severn and Forest of Dean in the west
Winter landscape; view across fields from the bedroom window at the back of the Nook.
Quirky little clock in the lounge
Original textile artwork:Sunset by HelenMarshallDeans adds to the tranquil atmosphere of the bedroom
Spacious, practical kitchen with large fridge/freezer, ample cupboard storage for your provisions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
willden
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in the beautiful Cotswolds”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a delightful week at Bobby's Nook. The cottage was clean, comfortable and very well equipped with virtually everything one could wish for for a short vacation.

The cottage is situated in a beautiful setting and is a very convenient location to explore the Cotswolds area. It has splendid views across the valley with a couple of delightful walks right on the doorstep. Also, a couple of decent pubs are within walking distance as is a local Sainsbury's for those of a more energetic disposition!

Gill and Mike were very helpful and unobtrusive hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICIA...
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very well equipped and spotless apartment. You could find anything you needed to cook in the kitchen. The shower, superb, you never wanted to get out of it!.
Great location to explore the Cotswolds. And last but not least, the owner's kindness, always happy to help. We will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the shower, kitchen, location
Liked least: the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLLydia
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kind and friendly..”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've had a very nice stay.
It's a very nice location to visit Bath, Gloucester and Oxford.
A warm welcome from the owners.
The place was very tidy en well equipped.
We will recommend this accomodation to our friend and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet L
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We throughly enjoyed our stay at Bobby's Nook, it was wonderful. The accommodation was clean and tidy and had all the equipment for a long term stay. The owners were lovely and could not have done more to help us and make us comfortable. They provided a beautiful Wecome tray, which was really appreciated after out 23 hour journey from Australia. There was a nice garden setting for outdoors and the views were superb. Cows in the paddock from the bedroom window and the rolling hills from the lounge window. There was easy parking for our hired car, and we were convenient to shopping and all the well known Cotswolds villages and commons. An excellent place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grabers13
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little base for exlporing”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked here for 4 nights in July as a base for exploring the Cotswolds and what it has to offer. It's just as described and a lovely little retreat and perfect for a couple looking for self catering. It's attached to the owners property and is a lovely little self contained property which is very well presented, the flowers on arrival were a lovely added touch.

We managed a couple of lovely BBQS in the garden and had everything we needed for a great stay. Jill is so friendly and cannot do enough to help, if we are looking to stay in the area again we will definitely be back.

There are a couple of great pubs down the road and the view from the common on the grounds above the property are excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath G
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent service and spotlessly clean... Gill is very welcoming and keen to make your stay comfortable... ask and she will solve. Excellent facilities... everything one could want. Well equipped fully functioning kitchen with all you would expect plus Tassimo and dishwasher, lounge with TV, CD player and wifi, bedroom including radio/clock/alarm/dock. A fabulous shower with lovely large lush towels. Peaceful, stunning location. There are many great places to visit and the walks are marvellous eg. A short but steep climb at the back of the property and there are amazing views from Selsley Common (if you tred quietly in those woods you may spot a deer). Great walks from the common include Pen Wood to King Stanley or the opposite direction to Woodchester. Further afield a must to visit is Painswick Beacon for its stunning views of the whole area. Stroud close by offers good local amenities such as Sainsburys and Waitrose plus some good independent shops, a cinema and local theatre and a variety of restaurants and takeaways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean and stunning countryside.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet getaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Bobby's Nook is a nice cottage to stay in for a short break. We stayed there over Valentine's day where they a seasonal offer on, here is what we thought:

+ Very clean and had almost everything we needed
+ We were greeted on site as soon as we arrived to give us the basic info and then left to it to enjoy our time (but they were there to help with anything needed)
+ Eggs from their own hens were provided - a nice touch
+ Bed was comfortable
+ Very quiet location

- The shower, although inviting, was completely useless - it had weak pressure and did not respond to the temperature guage at all
- Could have been closer to the town but this wasn't a big deal
- They only had one oven rack for an oven which should have had two (they did provide one although we had to ask when it should have been there in the first place)

Overal, I would recommend this cottage as it was a very peaceful stay. Apart from the shower (which was unbearable) it was a very nice and well kept cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Firstly I would like to reassure all future guests that the shower has been visited by a qualified plumber and is performing to its full fabulousness! I am sure many more guests will enjoy it; as our first reviewer says, it is a shower “you won’t want to get out of!”
Thank you for this review, however, we are absolutely astonished and extremely disappointed that the issue was not brought to our attention during the stay. It is very unhelpful that this reviewer sat on this information for over 8 weeks, without notifying us, before writing the review. We ALWAYS endeavour to resolve any issues as quickly as possible to avoid the possibility of disappointment and we go out of our way to ensure that EVERYTHING is dealt with, for example, by providing an independent feedback form guests can complete at the end of their stay. I have checked the feedback form completed by this guest as I was worried that I may have overlooked a comment about the shower, however, although the oven rack was mentioned, the shower was NOT. Luckily a subsequent guest told us about it and a plumber was immediately called and attended within 3 hours of us being notified.
Most guests have found Bobby’s Nook to be extremely well equipped for short and longer stays and I am always happy to help with special requests. After making the booking this guest emailed me a list of extra equipment that was required for a baking session and I provided everything on the list except a special electric whisk as the guest stated he was happy to bring his own. I did however, provide an extra basic whisk. All the additional equipment was brand new, including a cake tin of a size and shape specified by the guest.
As mentioned in the review above, this stay was over the Valentine’s Day Weekend and there was a special offer running. Provided for the guests’ arrival was a welcome tray with milk, tea, coffee (Tassimo pods), sugar, chocolate biscuits and some very fresh eggs from our own hens. Also, fresh flowers, a half bottle of Prosecco and heart shaped chocolates were left as a welcome gift.
With regard to the location, there is a map on the listing which shows that the property is in a rural location a couple of miles from the centre of Stroud. We do mention in the listing that the property is in a peaceful countryside location and has a wonderful view to the west. It is clear from the photos that the kitchen and bedroom windows look out on to fields and there are many footpaths to be enjoyed, including the Cotswold Way, straight from the front door. Having been brought to the property in his father’s car, these guests obviously did not have their own transport, however, although Bobby’s Nook is in such a lovely location, it is in no way cut off from civilisation. There are two walking distance pubs and a reliable hourly bus service to Stroud, Stonehouse and Gloucester with bus stops only a couple of hundred metres from the property. The bus also stops outside the large Sainsbury’s only one mile away. Bus timetables and details of the pubs and shops are included in the Information Pack which is regularly updated and left in the property for all guests to use.
I am appalled that the reviewer gives the impression that I purposely did not provide a second oven rack. The guest called late at night to ask for a second rack and, as we did not have a second rack for the oven, I considered several alternatives before improvising with a rack with deeper feet from our large roasting tray which could stand at the base of the oven. We have subsequently noted that the oven was supplied with only one rack as standard and this has never been a problem, even for guests who have stayed over Christmas and cooked a full turkey dinner.
As a host, I am passionate about Bobby's Nook. I created it as a space where two people could enjoy a lovely relaxing escape or one person could have a peaceful retreat with good quality facilities and efficient, friendly service when required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing