We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect setting for a family celebration!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
The Old Chapel, Slad As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
The Old Chapel, Slad
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds
Spacious open plan kitchen
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Dining area enough for 10 people
So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Open plan living room with a wood burning stove
Open plan living space
Doors leading out to the patio and garden
Super kingsize bed in the master with an en suite shower room
En suite to the master bedroom
King sized bed in 2nd bedroom
Homely bedroom with 2 singles and children's bunks
Children's bunk beds
Beautiful views down the valley, single bed with pull out single.
Family bathroom upstairs
Downstairs utility and shower room
Children's play room
Breakfast on the terrace
Looking out into the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stroud, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ian229
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect setting for a family celebration!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Old Chapel was the perfect place for our two families to spend the week celebrating our mothers 80th birthday. There was ample room for all eight of us (nine with the dog!) and the lovely family kitchen with a huge dining table was great to gather round in the evening. The Chapel was absolutely stunning- inside and out and we were blessed with the weather all week so it gave us an ideal base to tour and explore this beautiful part of the country. We would definitely love to go back one day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Divine”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Old Chapel in Slad is one of the calmest and most relaxing places I have stayed, even in Gold Cup week. Look over old gravestones to the changing light of the valley, sample the cidery delights of The Woolpack a few hundred metres down the road, sit outside with a glass early evening..
The house is stylish, spacious, light and superbly managed by Debra who lives nearby and is always keen to help.
Heaven in Glos

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelB1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation in beautiful location.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Cosy and stylish all rolled into one. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the log fire was the perfect touch for the frosty evenings. We were catering for 8 and the kitchen was full of everything we could have needed and more.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlcnonny
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property in idyllic location”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A wonderful property set in a wonderful location, perfect for my partners 40th birthday weekend with the family. The kids loved the den and ample space to run around and the trampoline in garden, the adults loved cooking in the kitchen, ample space, nice features, great views and not to mention brilliant pub down the road.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reders
reading
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Got there in the dark, but it was easy to find as it’s on the road through Slad and 300 yards past the Woolpack Pub as the information pack indicated. It was hard work walking the luggage up both the steep drive and steps but when we woke up in the morning to the views it was worth it.

We stayed over Christmas week, taking some of our own Christmas decorations but be needn’t have bothered as we were welcomed to see a lovely decorated real large Christmas tree in the hallway and another one in the playroom along with other decorations around the house.

Everything was there that we needed including a well equipped kitchen. Also you don’t need to bring any towels as these are provided plus there is a good washing machine and dryer there.

Overall we had a brilliant Christmas there with many local walks and pubs around to explore and try. We hope to go back there in the summer and would recommend it if you get the opportunity.

The only downside was the slow wifi. Being use to a faster town connection the slow wifi was an issue when I had to work on one of the days whilst there, although it was adequate enough to post photos of the Old Chapel and the surrounding pictures views on facebook to the envy of our friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarran W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked The Old Chapel for the Mother in Laws 60th Birthday and we really enjoyed our stay.

The property easily fit 7 adults and 2 children without us being on each others toes.

Beautifully laid out and the Kitchen is one I would dream of having if my own home was big enough. Although induction hobs take some getting used to.

The artwork on the walls looks like a famous artists work, ( I won't spoil who) and this compliments the property really well.

The Woolpack is just down the road (approx 2 minute walk) and is untouched by time, and they serve a wonderful pint of "Old Rosie".

If you are in the area over a weekend, then a trip to the farmers market in Stroud on Saturday is highly recommended.

All in all a wonderful stay, and we would go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$243
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing