We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The chapel is a nice family getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
As featured in the Guardian, Cool holiday cottages in Gloucestershire and in the Cotswolds
So many good times to be spent around the large kitchen table
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Spacious open plan kitchen
Dining area enough for 10 people
Open plan living space
Doors leading out to the patio and garden
Super kingsize bed in the master with an en suite shower room
En suite to the master bedroom
King sized bed in 2nd bedroom
Homely bedroom with 2 singles and children's bunks
Children's bunk beds
Beautiful views down the valley, single bed with pull out single.
Family bathroom upstairs
Downstairs utility and shower room
Children's play room
Breakfast on the terrace
Looking out into the garden
The Old Chapel from the garden with views down the valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GailC78
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The chapel is a nice family getaway ”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Delayed review as I've just come across this again whilst browsing. Stayed here for a long weekend almost 2 years ago now. My party consisted of my parents, husband, sibling and nephews. We all loved the chapel. It's a great size for 8 of us. We all loved the communal areas and we could eat and exist comfortably without being under each other's feet.

The house is close to a pub that's walking distance and serves nice pub food with a nice atmosphere.

Would recommend and will hopefully be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist69...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most perfect home from home”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Chapel is a wonderful place for family and friends to get together. Our family want to live there permanently but are happy to call it home for a week or so. It is beautiful, comfortable and fun in all weathers. We all have our favorite aspects but for me its the fabulous kitchen that we can enjoy cooking in and sitting around the table that will squeeze in ten people cosily.
Great communication too with the lovely Debra.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreab28...
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chapel in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Chapel is a wonderful place to stay in a great location.We absolutely loved our time there.
Very well equipped too. Perfect really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H
1 review
“Fantastic Relaxation and Pub Walks”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have been here before and very pleased it remains a beautiful house, well cared for with lots of thought. You quickly make it your second home after a day, combined with great walks to local villages (and associated pubs that just happen to be there).
Our Dog just loves sitting at the top of the garden watching the world go by after a hard days walk. Lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey63...
1 review
“Lovely and cosy!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Gorgeous house and just the right size for a group of friends. We loved the modern open plan spaces, cosy log fire, beautiful views and lovely bedrooms. The Woolpack pub, a couple of mins walk away, with it's great food and ambience was also perfect.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999Miley
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely love this place, we have returned 3 years in a row.
The house is well furnished and has an excellent kitchen with all amenities.
It's extremely comfortable, warm and inviting and feels like a real home from home.
Some excellent walks, footpaths and nature trails locally, and the village pub is a very short walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen is really excellent, so well equipped it has everything you can think of. Marvellous !
Liked least: Nothing of note - is that pedestrian access to the property is a challenge due to the steepness of the drive, not insurmountable, there are steps and it is possible to drive a car up to the house so still very accessible to all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ah54321
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly unique place, extremely well looked after”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in The Old Chapel in May and really enjoyed the space, the unique property and the care & attention that is taken to keep it in such tip top condition.

The booking and info about getting there & about the property were all extremely comprehensive and really helpful.

The kitchen is vast and all the appliances are top of the range and all fully working and well cared for.

The downstairs area is huge and very comfortable and all the bedrooms and bathrooms fabulous with hand soap and shower gel provided and initial supply of things like toilet roll which is all very handy.

We also enjoyed the art work dotted around - real talking points and very interesting!!!

And I must say the bed in the master bedroom is massive and so comfortable - didn't want to get up but had to to go and enjoy the lovely outdoor area and the fabulous walks and pub, The Woolpack just a few minutes walk away.

The Woolpack is a lovely pub with fabulous food and a lovely atmosphere.

The Old Chapel is a fabulous place for many walks around that beautiful part of the Cotswolds and we thoroughly enjoyed it with our dog. It is a location we will never forget :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Only small point to raise, one side of the garden is not fully closed off which as we have a dog we just had to keep an eye on, but it wasn't anything big.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing