We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Bubble and Squeak ever!”

The Retreat at Stroud
Ranked #37 of 139 Restaurants in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best Bubble and Squeak ever!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I ate here as part of a business lunch. There were 8 in our party and each person was very pleased with their meal. My bubble and squeak was wonderful; super tasty and plenty of it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flossiemitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasing atmosphere but the rosti was terrible”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After reading about this and the rosti that they serve with different toppings we were interested to try it. Went for lunch a few days ago. Very easy parking nearby which was helpful. Pub is well decorated and the staff at the bar friendly. However the rosti was a very disappointing. We both have had the real thing in Switzerland and this did not measure up well. The outer crust was slightly toasted but the center was just a mush of grated potato. We left most of it. A shame as a really good rosti is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kooperhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Retreat”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

So nice to visit somewhere for lunch years after last eating here to find that it's food & style haven't changed. A classic venue with great food (so pleased the hot chicken sarnie is still on the menu :-)).

Helpful?
1 Thank stroudexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a business lunch”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a lovely place for a working lunch, and suitable for taking visitors from out of town. The food is always top notch, and served with a smile. It is worth the wait, and there usually is one. I've been going there on and off for twenty years, since I moved to Stroud.Stilton and mango chutney on toast with a salad were among my perennial favourites, along with a hot smoked chicken sandwich. Now that I'm trying to be gluten free, I'd probably ask staff to modify something on the menu. Good range of drinks at the bar. There is a fairly large outdoor seating area, it's a walled courtyard enclosed on all sides. Only downside I can see is that the toilet is down a steep flight of stairs, so would be unsuitable for disabled visitors. This is a shame, as the restaurant area is roomier than most in Stroud. Decor is dark red and on the sober side. Definitely worth a daytime visit, but the evenings in the bar are more for a younger, noisier crowd.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coco4075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Often meet friends here for lunch (food is only served at lunchtime – in the evenings the Retreat is an altogether different animal, more of a bar). The food is consistently good. They've had the same menu since forever but it's a case of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" I think. Pretty much always go for chicken enchiladas or the Rösti (the one with stilton topping is especially good). All the dishes I've tried are served with a really tasty salad – not just a few token lettuce leaves but bean sprouts, great dressing etc.. A couple of good ales and lagers on tap and the coffee is good too, although nothing fancy.

The atmosphere in the daytime is great, very relaxed and friendly. Bar staff are all lovely – they seem to have a policy of only employing pretty girls, as another reviewer noted.

I'll keep coming back here and I hope they don't change anything about the menu or decor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DW7414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Retreat at Stroud also viewed

 
Stroud, Cotswolds
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Retreat at Stroud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing