We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Washbrook Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Stables (bring your own horse possible, email for more details)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LVS14
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thought from the pictures on Trip Advisor that this cottage would fulfil our vision of an idyllic country cottage, but it exceeded it. The quality of the decor and furniture, linen and towels which were provided along with the welcome hamper said to us that the owners truly care that you have a pleasant stay. The setting is beautiful and the nearby village of Painswick is definitely worth a visit. We had a lovely holiday and would recommend you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky layout and beautiful decor
Liked least: The dry air the Aga gave off affected my baby daughter's eczema, which was a shame
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJShearer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage retreat for adults and kids, great location for short or long walks, and a 10 minute walk to the pubs!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic week at washbrook Cottage and was made to feel very welcome by Nikki and Nick, and their pets which the kids adored!

The cottage was perfect and had everything you could ask for, and more. Even on a wet day everything was in the cupboards for the kids to bake cakes on the Aga.

Local pubs and restaurants all within easy walking distance in Painswick and they were all friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much.

I can imagine it being a wonderful retreat at Christmas too! Will definitely be returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahm122...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Quaint cottage in idyllic garden setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Washbrook Cottage. The cottage is immaculately clean, tastefully furnished and has the most comfortable beds! The cottage garden and main house garden are delightful. It was most relaxing to lie in the garden and listen to the sound of the running water in the brook. The cottage is in an ideal setting only a short country stroll to picturesque Painswick. The children loved the resident cat and horses. Nik was very welcoming and is available onsite if there are any queries. I would highly recommend this accommodation. If we lived in the UK, Washbrook would be a regularly holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful location for a break of the highest standard.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owners provided such a warm welcome and clearly understand how important guest services are. The attention to detail is second to none and you really feel relaxed in the beautifully decorated cottage and idyllic surroundings.

We have stayed in a number of UK holiday homes/ cottages in the last 3 years since our daughter was born, and hand on heart , Washbrook Cottage is the best by far. Paul, Rachael and Livi.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGborn
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Classy cosy cottage stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children (ages 10-15). Very impressed with the interior. It was obvious that no expense was spared. A lot of attention to detail like a welcome food pack and folder with misc details that guest would want to know. The only missing info was food delivery like Pizza, Chinese or Indian, but I think that's only because there was non in the area. Staying here will be great in the colder months as the AGA stove was always on, and the duvet were lovely and thick. Towards the end of the stay, it was about 25oC outside, and really did not need the cottage heating. We could not open the windows and doors to cool the place as their cat kept coming in (we are allergic to animals). In the end we turned the stove down as we were not doing any cooking. Otherwise I think a fan in the cottage in the summer would be helpful. Access to internet, toys and movies has been great for staying in. Great walks on our doorstep. Everyone enjoyed their stay.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and we will definitely put more menus in the pack and make a fan available for future guests if needed. We have also now switched to the summer bedding (sorry!) which will make the cottage a little cooler during the beautiful British summer we are experiencing.

Very sorry that Missy's visits meant that you couldn't open the windows. She does love to visit the guests!

We very much hope you will come and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Luxury stay in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a family holiday here with 5 adults. The cottage way exceeded our expectations and was easily spacious enough for us all. Every detail of the cottage has been done with love and attention and is of high quality, true luxury! It is in an amazing location within the grounds of Washbrook Farm which you are allowed to explore freely. We particularly enjoyed this. The cottage garden and farm garden are beautiful and full of wildlife. We saw green and normal woodpeckers, a nuthatch, deers, pheasants, not to mention the family pets. Lily the dog and Missy the cat were particularly friendly and even spent time with us, which we loved. The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in and we' ve been in a lot!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham07
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My family and I stayed at Wasbrook Cottage over the Christmas and the new year period, In fact we loved the cottage so much we extended our stay. Firstly it's located in the stunning Cotswalds so you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful countryside in England. Secondly the cottage itself is amazing. As soon as you walk into the cottage you can see that Nicky and Nick have put so much thought and love into building this place. It is extremely well appointed, I was so surprised at the amenities provided, it makes you feel like you are in your own home, not a holiday rental. It's very spacious enough room for kids to run around and for everyone to have their own space. The beds are very comfy and the kitchen has everything in it you could possibly need, I loved the Aga oven, it was fantastic to cook Christmas lunch in. It's also in a great location for drives to other parts of the Cotswalds. I would highly recommend this cottage, it was one of our most relaxing holidays ever!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing