We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of COMBE COTTAGE

Exterior of cottage and drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Folded down dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom2
Bedroom1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
27jessica
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for a week, the cottage is cosy and has a really great bathroom. Bus into Stroud makes it really easy to get to, and some great walks right outside the door. Stroud brewery is only 10 min walk away, the pub in brinscombe itself does good food, as do the fish and chip shop and indian- all walking distance. Very quaint little village and the locals were very friendly. The cottage is very well fitted out and has lots of period features. Very easy to book as well- thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliejq...
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mtb holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage was a great place to stay, very clean, comfortable beds, amazing shower, in a great location for mountain biking, stones throw from the Forest of Dean, would highly recommend I will be returning in the winter .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minski36
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife and i stayed at combe cottage for four nights over the bank holiday and had a very enjoyable time. The cottage itself has so much character with the exposed wooden beams and large fire place. The decking in the garden with the view over the valley is perfect for a glass of wine on a summers evening. The pub over the road also does very good food and drink, followed by a nice walk along the canal.The location is perfect for exploring the cotswalds (bourton on the water and bath are a must see) The owner andy was very helpful and we will definitely be back next year. We found we didn't have enoigh time to explore this beautiful part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review
It is always a pleasure dealing with genuine people
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llanfair, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgium
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind review
It is always a pleasure when such nice families are guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annamarty...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAY AWAY I HAD TO CALL THE POLICE ON THE OWNER”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I will start absolutely no phone service in the whole property
Top bedroom was full of beds there was no where to put your clothes not even under the beds as there were mattress stored
there too, the bedside lamps were so tall light and tacky that they fell on your head every time you would go near them it was also freezing up there even with the heating on constant
The bathroom was vile, the Lino did not fit and the bath was falling apart
All the coubards in the kitchen were full so there was not even enough room for bread
I had to spend a day trying to fit our shopping in
Both the hovers in the property were useless I had to use a dust pan and brush most of the time and with there being a fire this was not easy , the TVs were useless you can't change the channel and the one on the top floor did not work
I would have complained but while staying at the property we lost a close relative and I had spent days crying and stressed which caused me to be late by 24 hours to pay for our exstended stay bearing in mind we had already been there 8 days then to find the landlord came storming in to the property at the time I was crying to my friend on the sofa
He was vile to me saying alsorts of things I just could not repeat on here my children were in a terrible state as so was I, I have never met such a nasty man he was going to chuck all our stuff on the street he gave us 5 Minutes to get out I tried to explained what had happened but he said he did not care he would not even wait outside so we could get our stuff out
so I had to call the police I'm so glad I did as they had to threatened to arrest him for breach of the peace
JUST DONT BOTHER
Its right on a busy main road so to dangerous for dogs and children as they can get through
There are plenty of other cottages That are much better with
The vile man even said we would steal
What the tacky lamps hovers that find work or the Wilko value kitchen stuff every time I picked up a spatula at a fish slice they fell apart
I could go on forever

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
This booking was made through Trip Advisor for 2 adults and 2children for 8 days
I was contacted by a neighbour who advised me that 7 people had moved into the property along with two dogs.
They remained in the property for 4 days after they were due to leave,refusing to go
I called at the property and advised that squatting was now a criminal offence and unless they left at once I would call the police,when they refused I did so .The police officers that arrived told them that unless they left within 2 hours they would be arrested.The officers also discovered that the occupants were local itinerant who made a habit of taking such actions against holiday homes
When I checked out my property I found considerable damage had resulted . Many items had been damaged and a considerable number of items stolen. A police investigation is on going and the crime reference number is 300121617
Over 500 empty bed tins were removed from the property and I had to hire a 2 cubic meter skip to get rid of the other rubbish left
I have taken several pictures of the way the property was left but a ll though reviewers are allowed to post pictures that facility is denied to owners when they respond
I am over £1000 out of pocket due to this booking and although I have brought the matter to the attention of Trip Advisor but no action has been taken by them
Finally the claim that there is no mobile connection is totally untrue,all networks work well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing