We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked this hotel for my elderly mother. I had tried to book a hotel closer to Cheltenham but due to a race meeting, I needed to book the PI in Stroud. Despite the hotel being full with many Cheltenham racegoers, she found the hotel quiet and slept well - she's a light sleeper. She was allocated a disabled room as this was all that was available but this was stated when the booking was made. When my mother accidently pulled the disabled alarm cord by mistake instead of the light switch, the night staff responded quickly & without any fuss - this was reasurring.
The hotel, room, bathroom & restaurant were all clean & up to the usual PI standard, but its the staff who excel here. Without exception all staff were friendly, helpful & made both my mother & myself very welcome. I would definately recommend this hotel due to the quality of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in a downstairs twin room, very quiet & very comfortabl, close to the town centre, and friendly helpful staff. We couldn't ask for more and were satisfied with everything. The cooked breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A pretty, listed old building which has been extended, but still a charming Premier Inn. We were a family of 4.The room was very large, overlooking the car park, but still a reasonable 'leafy' view. Comfy beds, nice clean room and bathroom.
The staff were brilliant; so friendly and helpful, in the bar, restaurant(attached to the Premier Inn), also in reception and the cleaners were really nice too.
The windows only open a small amount, this would be a problem in summer.
Great location; about a 5 minute stroll from Stroud town center and just accross the road from a beautiful park with a lake, play area, sports center and a museum which has activities for kids in the holidays.
Stroud is lovely with lots of nice independent quirky shops. Sorentos Italian restaurant in Stroud was excellent and well priced.
The food in the restaurant at the Premier Inn was average but cheap and convenient on arrival at tea time.
The surrounding countryside was wonderful, Minchinhampton is close by- a really lovely gem of a village.

Room Tip: We were in room 19, on the top floor (of 2), which I would recommend. Some rooms on the ground floor...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after going to a friend's wedding. When we checked in, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, which I always appreciate. The room was very basic, with a duvet cover too small for the duvet, small holes in the curtains, and a clean yet old feel to the entire place. Some of the plugs did not work, however there were enough of them to not be a problem.

My biggest gripe was going back to the room around midnight. There were people just hanging around in the car park, and when the night receptionist let me in, he didn't acknowledge me other than to ask when I was expecting, as I looked pregnant. As a plump but not huge woman, this upset me greatly, and when I explained I was not pregnant, he just shrugged. I have never been insulted at a hotel before!

Overall, I think it's an ok place, but in need of serious updating, and manners taught to all staff, not just those who work in the day!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is not your normal Premier Inn! Beautiful listed building with some really different rooms, but still with great premier inn service. We had booked 2 rooms and both were spot on. Rooms were spotless and there was everything you need. It was great to have a proper radiator and we had masses of room to swing a couple of cats. Great base to visit the Cotswolds, we will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank swfc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Arrived late-ish on a dark wet evening. Drove past several times as not well signposted and entry dark. After parking - also difficult due to poor signage - I found the Reception entrance where I had to walk through a fog of cigarette smoke from all the smokers gathered at the Reception doorway. Reception itself was tired and grubby and carpets filthy. The receptionist was pleasant enough but I had the impression I was wanted out of the way as quickly as possible.On first inspection my room was fine but then I discovered a wet patch on the carpet which I had to walk on. Source of wet unknown! Went for dinner and was asked if I had booked - which I hadn't - so was shuffled away to the back of the restaurant. Food was OK and the service was quite friendly. Breakfast was the usual PI standard and the staff were friendly and helpful but none went out of their way.

I've stayed in several PI's most of which have been good to excellent but this one comes nowhere near that standard. Maybe I caught them on a bad day but I'll steer clear of this one in the future

Room Tip: Select another location and miss this one
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Relations at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We'd been invited to a wedding and at short notice we were able to book a room at the Premier Inn, Stroud. The weather forecast was bad, so we left our caravan at home. Stroud was ideally located for the event.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
203 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stroud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud Hotel

Address: Stratford Road | Stratford Lodge, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II-listed building in the heart of the Cotswolds, with Stroud's Farmers' Market market nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Stroud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing