We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refurb and damp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In need of a refurb and damp”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are a list of things that need to be changed to bring this hotel up to the normal Premier Inn standard:
1. Every window frame, that I saw, was covered in black, smelly damp.
2. The bedroom smelt of damp.
3. All of the carpets (bedroom, hall and Brewers Fayre restaurant) needed hoovering and cleaning.
4. The bathroom grouting was grubby.
5. The electric socket in the bedroom was loose.

I hope Premier Inn head office sees this review and makes the changes, as we need the standard to be maintained across the brand.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the Bar / Restaurant as I imagine ot would be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mates-who-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Stroud Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    141
    68
    27
    10
See reviews for
124
144
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The welcom, room and restaurant were great for an overnight stay. I would stay there again if in the area. We arrived Sunday afternoon and were very dissapointed that by the time we went down to eay at 5.30 they had stopped serving the carvery. We had been told on arrival that the carvery was serving until 8pm. We asked why at 5.30 they had cleared away the carvery and were told by the serving staff that they had run out of food. :((

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Only had one night there unfortunatley, but staff were very friendly, and acted immediately when a request for extra bedding was given, room, really clean, beds comfy and pristine.
Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The reception staff were way above average and a credit to Premier Inns.
For the price the room was very good value and a good nights sleep was enjoyed.
No complaints.
Location perfect for Westonbirt, Berkley castle and Highgrove.
Will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After staying in a new Premier Inn the previous night in another location I quickly realised that there was a significant difference in the standards: This isn't the best, it looks and feels a little tired. I guess it was Ok and I got a good night's sleep once the boy racers had stops doing doughnuts in the Tesco's car park next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Telephone booking service was an ordeal and four days later still waiting for our email receipts. Older style rooms with adequate but limited facilities including shortage of towels in both rooms booked. A couple in each room surely demands two towels? Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Probably the best Premier Inn I've ever stayed in, lovely location right opposite a park (perfect for our picnic in the spring sunshine) only ten minutes from the centre of Stroud too.

Staff were friendly, room was spotless and Lenny Henry was right, a really comfortable bed big enough for three of me. Best of all, for a light sleeper like me, SILENCE all night long and notices in all the corridors asking you to respect their quiet policy.

Would definitely return as felt price was bang on for both comfort and location.

If you've forgotten anything reception staff can help, better still there is a Tesco Superstore right next door!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy2travelBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
3.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stroud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stroud Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
Address: Stratford Road | Stratford Lodge, Stroud GL5 4AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stroud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II-listed building in the heart of the Cotswolds, with Stroud's Farmers' Market market nearby ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Stroud
Stroud Premier Inn
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing