We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star Perfect Rural Idyll ....”
other travellers have booked this property
Slad cottage rental - 3 Spring Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Slad cottage rental - 3 Spring Cottages
Slad cottage rental - front garden Slad cottage rental
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Slad cottage rental - 3 Spring Cottages
Slad cottage rental - front garden
Slad cottage rental
Slad cottage rental - back garden (approach) parking beyond
Slad cottage rental - living room
Slad cottage rental - back garden
Slad cottage rental - bedroom 1st floor
Slad cottage rental - detail bed 1
Slad cottage rental - kitchen
Slad cottage rental - 1st floor landing
Slad cottage rental - 1st floor bathroom
Slad cottage rental - 2nd floor bathroom and landing
Slad cottage rental - bedroom 2
Slad cottage rental - view from garden of streams
Slad cottage rental - seating area in front garden
Slad cottage rental - view from living room window
Slad cottage rental - porch/utility room
Slad cottage rental - bedroom window view
Slad cottage rental - Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
paulastot...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Perfect Rural Idyll ....”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

John (husband) and I were looking for a cosy, quality cottage 'in the middle of a field' - somewhere peaceful and in a beautiful location and this cottage was perfect. It had everything we could possibly need and more. Rod and Anne, the owners, live next door but do not intrude at all and are on hand and very happy to sort any hiccups. We have stayed in many holiday cottages however this was easily the best, pristinely clean and everything in the cottage is excellent quality - the bedding, throws, cushions, crockery, cutlery, appliances etc and for us, these are the details that make all the difference. And the welcome basket of Prosecco, fresh bread, milk, butter and fruit (there may have been more) was unexpected and a lovely surprise. And there were plenty of logs for the fire had it been cold enough. A great location to visit Bath and the many beautiful, quaint Cotswolds villages and towns and for walking, with a handful of good eateries roundabout too. We are definitely booking again and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, quality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thanks Paula and John,
That is a lovely review.
Please come back soon.
R & A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparklymu...
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were absolutely delighted with this gorgeous little holiday cottage. It is very picturesque outside and beautifully decorated and appointed inside. Our 14 year old daughter was happy with her attic bedroom which included her own personal bathroom. Our bedroom on the first floor was very pretty and the bathroom was lovely with its own window seat and plenty of space, and a very nice shower. I was very pleased to see a spare set of towels, hand towels and bath mats were supplied, which is something I really like to have but is often not supplied in other places.

The kitchen was very well appointed and the hosts kindly supplied everything you could possibly need. Little things like extra tea towels and kitchen hand towel, bin liners and food wrap, even plastic containers for spare food or picnics all provided. As we had been travelling extensively before our arrival we really appreciated being able to put together some meals and make sandwiches to take out for the day in a pleasant kitchen.

There is also a combined washer/dryer which is so handy when you've been travelling, I pretty much washed the whole time and got completely caught up on washing before we left. There is a big clothes horse to put clothes on.

The heating is magnificent and comes on automatically, so we always came home to warmth. As an Australian I really feel the UK cold but we were toasty and warm in this cottage. There was even heating in the laundry which is unheard of in Australia but was handy for getting clothes dry. There is also the option of an open fire if you want.

The one little issue I found is that like so much accommodation in Europe the bed is only a double (I could see that width-wise you would not fit a bigger bed in) and it was also a little uncomfortable as it sank in the middle a bit.

I had been concerned that we were about a 45 min/hour drive from the 'touristy' part of the Cotswolds and that we would regret being away from this but it did not work out like that at all. The Slad Valley is just as pretty as any other area of the Cotswolds but without tons of tourists. We did visit most of the 'name' towns and villages and though they were pretty I didn't regret not staying there. I found a couple of them so heavily touristed I think it would have been unpleasant to stay there. It turned out we were better off where we were in many ways. It was so quiet at night, and peaceful in general. Our daughter loved playing with Evie the very happy and friendly dog, and made friends with Charlie the adorable pony. We went to Berkeley Castle, Chavenage House and horse riding at Brookthorpe which were all close by. Stroud is actually a nice town with a great market and it was just so convenient to drop by the supermarket after a day out to grab something quick for dinner at home, as Slad is very close by to Stroud.

Lastly I want to thank Rod and Anne for providing such lovely accommodation and for being so helpful. The welcome basket of goodies was very appreciated also. We felt very fortunate to have made this our choice for our week in the Cotswolds!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thanks Sean for a lovely review. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and revisit us soon.
Best wishes Ann & Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura T
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Rented this cottage for my family from Australia when they attended our wedding. beautiful cottage and immaculately decorated. Rod and his wife were lovely, friendly and very accommodating.

Could not fault any aspect from the booking right through till when we left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank-you Laura, for renting the cottage for your family. We are so glad your wedding went well and that you all enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Slad Valley. Please rent it again sometime.
Very best Ann and Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miekenjoh...
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks for a lovely review. Please come and revisit.
Rod and Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing